Skip to main contentSkip to footer

    Top Rated & Verified

    Top Clutch App Development Company Black Owned United StatesTop Clutch Java Developers France 2026Top Clutch Service Line Blind Company Black Owned 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Minority Owned 2026Top Clutch Web Developers Black Owned 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Black Owned 2026Top Clutch Flutter Developers France 2026Top Clutch Health & Wellness App Developers France 2026Top Clutch Swift Company France 2026Top Clutch Machine Learning Company France 2026Top Clutch Chatbot Company France 2026Top Clutch Artificial Intelligence Company France 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Minority Owned Los Angeles
    Back to Blog
    AI Agents
    September 26, 2026
    27 min read

    Top 10 AI Agents forLocksmiths in 2026

    Every ranking of locksmith AI you'll find scores missed-call revenue or "more bookings" claims that trace back to the vendor selling the product, or to a figure nobody can actually source. So this ranking scores only what an operator can re-check from a browser and a contract — and names the two decisions no locksmith AI agent should ever make alone in an industry Google's own lawsuit already flagged as one of the two most defrauded in the country.

    AI agents for locksmiths in 2026 — voice, dispatch and answering agents ranked on verifiable attributes
    13 states
    Currently require some form of state-level locksmith licensing, per ALOA's most recent count
    Associated Locksmiths of America (ALOA) / Locksmith Ledger state-by-state review, checked 2026-09-26
    10,000+
    Fraudulent Google Maps business listings, concentrated in "duress verticals" including locksmiths, that Google found and sued over in its March 2025 case
    Google Affirmative Litigation / CBS News, settled with permanent injunction, 5 December 2025
    $11B
    ElevenLabs' valuation after its February 2026 Series D — more than tripling its January 2025 valuation
    TechCrunch / Bloomberg, 4 February 2026
    $60M
    Total funding raised by Workiz, founded in 2015 by two former locksmiths, across four rounds
    TechCrunch / BusinessWire / PR Newswire, Series A–C coverage, 2019–2021

    Key Takeaways

    • The most-repeated stat in this category — a "62% missed call rate" and "$126,000/year" in lost revenue attributed to a 2024 ServiceTitan study — is the same unfindable figure already circulating across home-service marketing generally, plus a locksmith-specific "85% call a competitor" claim with no disclosed sample, plus a 2026 "study" that itself just repackages other vendors' numbers. We refuse to print any of the three as fact.
    • Locksmiths and towing companies are the two industries Google's own March 2025 lawsuit (settled with a permanent injunction 5 December 2025) names as the most targeted "duress verticals" for fake Google Maps listings and call-rerouting fraud — more than 10,000 fraudulent listings, one scheme, one Maryland-based defendant.
    • Two decisions no locksmith AI agent should make alone: authorizing entry work based only on a caller's unverified word, and locking in a single guaranteed price for a job it hasn't actually diagnosed — the second is the exact bait-and-switch pattern the FTC has warned consumers about for years.
    • 13 states currently require some form of state-level locksmith licensing (Alabama, California, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Virginia), per ALOA — plus city/county rules in places like New York City, Nassau County NY, Miami and Hillsborough County FL that apply regardless of state law.
    • Several automakers (BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Audi, Land Rover, Jaguar, Lexus, Porsche and Tesla among those commonly cited) lock key-fob programming behind dealer-only tools or manufacturer authorization — an AI agent that books a fob job without checking it against your team's actual OEM access creates a wasted truck roll, not a completed job.
    • Workiz was founded in 2015 by two former locksmiths who sold their own locksmith business before building the software; it's raised roughly $60M across four rounds and remains private. ElevenLabs, by contrast, is a general-purpose voice-AI platform worth $11B as of its February 2026 round — its "locksmith" page is a template, not a finished vertical product.
    • Only four vendors in this roster publish real dollar-amount pricing on their own sites: Rosie ($49–$299/month tiers), Jobber (reportedly $99/month for its AI Receptionist add-on), AgentZap ($109+/month) and Trillet ($49/month plus $0.20/minute). Every other vendor gates pricing behind a sales conversation or simply doesn't publish an AI-specific figure at all.
    • Frenchy Digital bands: discovery and workflow audit $9k–$22k; single-workflow agent $28k–$70k; multi-workflow platform with system integration $70k–$180k; enterprise, multi-location or regulated build $180k–$420k+.

    The Claim Under Test

    Nearly every AI vendor pitching locksmiths in 2026 leads with a number nobody outside the company has checked.An answering service claims it recovers most of your missed calls. A receptionist product promises more bookings without saying how it measured that. A field-service platform's own blog ranks itself first among its own competitors. None of it comes with a disclosed sample, a denominator, or an outside auditor. It is marketing, printed with the confidence of a measurement.

    Locksmithing is also a genuinely unusual category for how much an AI agent's overreach can cost — not because the trade itself is complicated, but because it sits inside what Google's own investigators call a "duress vertical": a service people call under real time pressure, with almost no ability to verify who's about to show up at their door or their car. That combination has made locksmiths (alongside towing companies) one of the two industries most targeted by a specific, well-documented fraud pattern — fake business listings that reroute calls to an unaccountable operator who then charges far more than quoted. An AI agent that automates dispatch and quoting without understanding that pattern isn't just a customer-service risk. It can become part of the exact scheme regulators and Google itself have already gone to court over. This article ranks ten AI vendors and platforms serving locksmiths on what you can actually verify — published pricing, named integrations, current ownership, and what the product genuinely does — and treats the authorization and quoting risks as their own dedicated sections, because that's where a wrong vendor choice, or a badly scoped agent, does real damage.

    The most useful finding in this article may be the stats we could not confirm at all: a "62% missed call rate" and "$126,000 a year" figure recycled from general home-service marketing, an "85% call a competitor" claim with no findable source, and a 2026 "study" that turns out to be a repackaging of other people's numbers. We cover exactly how each one falls apart, and what we found instead when we looked at Google's own fraud litigation naming this industry directly, in the sections below.

    How We Ranked, and What We Refused to Rank On

    We scored each vendor or platform on four things you can re-check without taking anyone's word for it: whether it publishes real, dollar-amount pricing; what named integrations it lists on its own site; who currently owns or controls the company, checked against the vendor's own materials rather than assumed from an older article; and what the AI product actually does — agentic action (a voice or chat agent that completes a multi-step task on its own) versus AI-assisted infrastructure a human reviews before it reaches a customer versus a general-purpose platform a locksmith would need a developer to actually turn into a finished product.

    We explicitly refused to score anything nobody can substantiate with a disclosed methodology: missed-call-revenue figures, "more bookings" percentages, or trust badges with no named sample. The table below names four specific claims we found in this category's marketing and states plainly what we print instead.

    The claimWhere it comes fromWhat we print instead
    A "62% missed call rate" and "$126,000 per year" in lost revenue for local service businesses, widely attributed to a 2024 ServiceTitan studyRepeated across home-service and locksmith-specific marketing sites with inconsistent, unsourced sample sizes; no primary publication found on ServiceTitan's own site as of this sessionThe claim named as unverifiable, with a suggestion to pull your own 90-day call log instead
    "85% of customers who can't reach a locksmith on the first call will immediately dial a competitor"Traces to an uncited vendor blog post with no disclosed sample or methodology, then repeated across dozens of locksmith-AI marketing pages as settled factThe figure named as unverifiable rather than repeated as an industry benchmark
    "Missed Calls & Lost Revenue Study 2026," cited by numerous vendor blogs as independent 2026 researchA synthesis report that repackages figures from Ambs Call Center, Invoca, an MIT lead-response study, HubSpot, ServiceDirect, Housecall Pro and Forbes under a new report title, without new primary data collection of its ownDescribed as a secondary aggregation, with its actual named sources listed instead of a single aggregate figure
    Any vendor's self-published "trusted by X businesses" count or "X% more bookings" headline not attributed aboveSelf-reported by the seller, with no independent audit of any product in this category that we could findThe figure attributed to the specific vendor by name, not repeated as a verified or general result

    A visible methodology note, since this article ranks vendors: everything above was checked this session against each vendor's own site, a press release naming the vendor directly, or court and government documents (Google's own litigation materials, the FTC's consumer advisory, and named state licensing boards) attributed as such. Where we could only find a figure via a third-party tracker or reseller estimate with no vendor confirmation, we say so explicitly rather than presenting it as verified. You can re-check every claim in this article the same way: visit the vendor's own pricing and product pages, confirm a company's current ownership via its own press page or a dated funding announcement, and check your own state and city's current locksmith licensing statute directly rather than trusting any AI-generated summary of it, including ours.

    What's Actually Being Built for This Industry

    Locksmithing doesn't have the kind of trade-press adoption survey that some other service verticals do — there's no single, independent poll asking locksmith companies directly how much AI they're actually running. What it does have is a genuinely interesting origin story sitting at the center of the category: Workiz, one of the largest field-service platforms serving locksmiths, was built by two people — Idan Kadosh and Erez Marom — who ran a real locksmith business in San Diego for more than 15 years before selling it and building the software they wished they'd had. That's a different kind of credibility than a horizontal SaaS company adding a locksmith landing page to an existing product.

    What the vendor landscape actually shows, once you separate real investment from marketing

    • Real capital is flowing into AI answering products across home services broadly: Workiz, Jobber and Housecall Pro have each shipped a dedicated AI receptionist or AI customer-service product within the same broad window, and none of them treat it as a minor feature — Housecall Pro's CSR AI, for instance, is sold and priced as a standalone add-on, not bundled.
    • The dedicated, locksmith-only players are smaller and newer: TheKeyBot, AgentZap and Trillet are all recent, small companies built or marketed specifically around locksmith call patterns, rather than large multi-trade platforms with a locksmith afterthought — worth knowing before assuming size correlates with fit.
    • "AI" spans very different maturity levels here, same as in every other trade: a platform's AI-recommended technician assignment is a different risk profile from a voice agent that talks to a customer, authorizes a dispatch, and quotes a price on its own — treating every vendor's "AI" claim as equally mature, or equally risky, is a mistake.

    None of this means the products in this ranking are hollow. It means the honest starting point for evaluating any of them is the same one this article uses throughout: what can you verify yourself, and what is simply being asserted by the company selling it. If you're also evaluating AI for a broader slate of home service contractors — HVAC, plumbing, electrical — several of the platforms in this article (Workiz, Jobber, Housecall Pro, ServiceTitan) span both categories, which is worth knowing if you're trying to standardize on one system across trades.

    The Comparison Table

    Checked this session, against each vendor's own site, help center, or a press release naming it directly. "Not verified this session" or "not disclosed" means we could not confirm the figure against a primary source in the time we had, not that no such figure exists.

    Vendor (checked 2026-09-26)What it actually isPublished pricingNamed integrations on the vendor's own siteOwnership of record
    1. Workiz (Genius Answering + AI Dispatcher)Field-service management platform used by locksmiths, HVAC, plumbing and electrical trades, with an AI receptionist add-on (Genius Answering) and an AI-driven technician-assignment tool (AI Dispatcher)Base plans $225 / $275 / $325 per month; AI answering and phone service sold as separate add-ons with no official published price (third-party trackers estimate roughly $200/month for the AI add-on)Native invoicing and payments; QuickBooks; broad small-business ecosystem rather than locksmith-specific partnersPrivate — founded 2015 by former locksmiths Idan Kadosh and Erez Marom; ~$60M raised across 4 rounds
    2. Jobber (AI Receptionist)Scheduling, quoting and invoicing platform used broadly across home-service trades including locksmiths, with an AI Receptionist add-on that answers calls and texts and books directly into the calendarReported at $99/month as an add-on on top of a base subscription; not itemized on Jobber's own public pricing page as of this sessionQuickBooks Online, Mailchimp, Stripe and native payments; broad rather than locksmith-specificPrivate (Edmonton, Canada) — General Atlantic's 2021 $100M round valued it above $1B; reported total funding ranges from $183.8M to $285M depending on tracker, not officially disclosed by Jobber
    3. Housecall Pro (CSR AI)All-in-one field-service platform (scheduling, invoicing, marketing) used across home-service trades, with CSR AI — a 24/7 AI rep that answers calls and chats, books jobs, and escalates flagged emergenciesNot published; CSR AI is described as "sold separately" on Housecall Pro's own product page, quote-gatedQuickBooks, native payments, broad small-business ecosystemPrivate — $174.3M raised from investors including Delta-v Capital, Invus Opportunities, NewView Capital, Permira and Akkadian Ventures
    4. ServiceTitan (Contact Center Pro / Phones Pro)Enterprise field-service platform spanning HVAC, plumbing, electrical and several other trades, with locksmiths as one of many verticals; AI runs through its Contact Center Pro / Phones Pro virtual-agent stackNot publicly disclosed; demo-gatedQuickBooks and common payment processors advertised broadly across the ServiceTitan suiteServiceTitan, Inc. — publicly traded, NASDAQ: TTAN
    5. TheKeyBotAI receptionist built specifically for locksmith shops, including automotive locksmiths; answers calls 24/7, generates quotes, books appointments; markets itself as a "Jobber alternative" for locksmithsNot publicly disclosed on the pages checkedIts own native CRM/booking rather than named third-party integrationsPrivate, based in Arlington, TX; funding not disclosed
    6. RosieAI call-answering service aimed at very small businesses, with a dedicated locksmiths landing page; books emergency lockouts, schedules rekeys, answers smart-lock-install questionsYes: $49/month (250 min, no in-call booking), $149/month (adds in-call booking), $299/month (adds document-based agent training); custom tier above thatSMS booking links and common small-business scheduling tools; broad rather than locksmith-specificPrivate, seed-funded; launched 2024
    7. Smith.aiHorizontal AI receptionist with live-agent backup, marketed directly to locksmiths via a dedicated landing page; harder or ambiguous calls escalate to a human agentPublishes tiered plans on its own site; its comparable hybrid plan for a small team runs roughly $292.50/monthA range of CRMs and scheduling tools rather than one platformPrivate — specific investor detail not verified this session
    8. AgentZapAI receptionist marketed across 88 industries including locksmiths, with a dedicated locksmith landing page; captures location detail, generates instant quotes, dispatches with map linksYes: plans starting at $109/month (150 included minutes), scaling to 1,500 minutes on higher tiers, no per-call feesDirect integration listed for Housecall Pro; broader integration list not fully enumerated on the pages checkedPrivate, founded 2025 (CEO Usman Rana), Phoenix, AZ; funding not disclosed; its "2,500+ businesses" figure is self-reported
    9. TrilletAI answering service marketed to locksmiths via a dedicated vertical page; positions itself as a pay-as-you-go alternative to contract-based competitorsYes: $49/month for 150 included minutes, then $0.20/minute beyond that, no contracts or setup fees, as of its own site checked this sessionNot enumerated in detail on the pages checkedPrivate; funding not disclosed
    10. ElevenLabs (Conversational AI platform)Not a locksmith-specific product — a general-purpose AI voice-model and conversational-agent platform; its "locksmith answering service" page is a template built on its own Conversational AI product, not a managed vertical SaaS toolPlatform pricing is usage/API-based, not a fixed locksmith-vertical priceBroad developer/API ecosystem, not locksmith-specificPrivate — $500M Series D in February 2026 at an $11B valuation (more than tripling its Jan. 2025 $3.3B valuation); ~$781M raised across 5 rounds since founding in 2022

    The Ten, in Order

    1. Workiz.Built by people who ran a locksmith dispatch operation themselves — founders Idan Kadosh and Erez Marom worked as locksmiths in San Diego for over 15 years before selling that business and founding Workiz in 2015. Genius Answering (its AI receptionist) and AI Dispatcher (which recommends which technician to send) are both add-ons on top of Workiz's core field-service platform, and neither has an officially published price — third-party trackers estimate Genius Answering around $200/month, on top of base plans running $225–$325/month. The company has raised roughly $60M across four rounds and remains private.

    2. Jobber.A large, general home-service platform — scheduling, quoting, invoicing — used across many trades including locksmiths, with an AI Receptionist add-on widely reported at $99/month that answers calls and texts and books directly into the calendar. Jobber is privately held; a General Atlantic-led $100M round in 2021 valued it above $1B, and reported total funding since ranges from roughly $184M to $285M depending on which tracker you check — Jobber itself doesn't publish a single authoritative figure.

    3. Housecall Pro.Another large, multi-trade field-service platform, with CSR AI as its answer to 24/7 call handling — a system that recognizes returning customers, pulls job history automatically, and is specifically built to detect emergency language and escalate it. True to form for this category, CSR AI's price isn't published anywhere on Housecall Pro's own site as of this session; it's explicitly "sold separately" and quote-gated. Housecall Pro is private, having raised $174.3M from a syndicate that includes Permira and NewView Capital.

    4. ServiceTitan. The largest, most institutional platform in this list by far — a publicly traded company (NASDAQ: TTAN) whose AI capability runs through its broader Contact Center Pro and Phones Pro products, built for its entire multi-trade customer base rather than tuned specifically to locksmith call patterns. If you're also comparing it against ServiceTitan's presence in pest control or other trades it serves, the underlying AI product is the same one — only the vertical marketing changes.

    5. TheKeyBot.The one genuinely locksmith-only dedicated AI receptionist in this list, based in Arlington, Texas, and built with automotive locksmith and dealership-adjacent workflows specifically in mind — a meaningful distinction from the horizontal answering services further down this ranking, none of which were built around key-fob and automotive-specific intake questions. Pricing isn't published on the pages we checked, and funding details aren't disclosed.

    6–9. The transparent-pricing tier — Rosie, Smith.ai, AgentZap, and Trillet.None of these four were built for locksmiths specifically; all four market directly to the trade among many local-service verticals, and all four are also the most transparent vendors in this entire roster about what they charge. Rosie publishes three tiers from $49 to $299/month, scoped clearly by feature. Smith.ai pairs an AI receptionist with live human backup for harder calls, with a comparable hybrid plan running around $292.50/month. AgentZap starts at $109/month with 150 included minutes and no per-call fees, and lists a direct integration with Housecall Pro. Trillet runs a pay-as-you-go model — $49/month for 150 minutes, then $0.20/minute beyond that, with no contract. If published, verifiable pricing matters most to your decision, start here.

    10. ElevenLabs. Not a locksmith product — a large, well-capitalized voice-AI platform (an $11B valuation as of its February 2026 round, up from $3.3B just over a year earlier) whose "locksmith answering service" page is a template showing what you could build on top of its Conversational AI infrastructure, not a finished, supported vertical SaaS tool. Included here because it's one of the more consequential AI investments touching this space, in the same way large infrastructure plays show up in adjacent "duress vertical" categories like towing — not because you can buy it off the shelf the way you'd buy Rosie's or AgentZap's plans.

    The Licensing Patchwork Nobody's AI Agent Should Ignore

    Locksmithing has none of pest control's federal certification framework or medicine's national licensing exam — it has something messier: a state-by-state patchwork where roughly a third of states require a license and the rest largely don't, with cities and counties sometimes filling the gap on their own.

    Thirteen states, and counting differently depending who you ask.ALOA, the industry's own trade association, counts 13 states currently requiring some form of state-level locksmith licensing: Alabama, California, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas and Virginia. A couple of other states used to require it and repealed the requirement, which is part of why you'll see slightly different counts (13 to 15) across different trade blogs — a reminder to check the current statute directly rather than trust any single secondary source, including this one. On top of that statewide layer, several cities and counties — New York City, Nassau County in New York, Miami, and Hillsborough County in Florida among them — run their own local licensing requirement independent of what their state does.

    QuestionWhat it requiresWhere it appliesPractical control
    Does a locksmith technician need a state license to operate?13 states currently require some form of state-level locksmith licensing, per ALOA's most recent count: Alabama, California, Connecticut, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas and VirginiaStatewide in those 13 states; the remaining states have no statewide requirement, though cities and counties including New York City, Nassau County NY, Miami and Hillsborough County FL license locksmiths locally regardless of state lawCheck the service address against the current state (and city/county) list before assuming a technician is or isn't required to hold a license — don't assume uniformly either way
    What does a state license actually require, in practice?Varies by state: California requires a company license plus individual employee registration, both gated on a DOJ/FBI background check; Texas requires individual and company licensing with a Qualified Manager who passes an exam and takes legal responsibility, reached via two years' experience or a 200+ hour training pathway; North Carolina requires triennial renewal plus 16 hours of continuing education per 3-year cycleState-specific — the examples given are illustrative, not exhaustive of every requirementVerify a technician's current license status directly against the issuing state board before dispatch, not from a vendor's own "verified" badge alone
    Can an AI dispatch agent send an unverified or unlicensed technician to a job in a licensing state?Dispatching or algorithmically recommending an unlicensed technician in a state that requires licensure creates real legal exposure for whoever did the dispatchingAny of the 13 state jurisdictions, plus city/county rules layered on top in non-licensing statesHard-block dispatch assignment for a job in a licensing jurisdiction unless the assigned technician's license or registration status is current in your own system

    What a license actually requires varies enough that "licensed" isn't one thing.California's Bureau of Security and Investigative Services requires a locksmith company license and separate individual employee registration, both gated on a criminal background check through the California DOJ and the FBI — and if a job's material and labor cost more than $500, a contractor's license kicks in too. Texas runs individual and company licensing through its Department of Public Safety's Private Security Bureau, with a "Qualified Manager" at the company level who passes a written exam and takes personal legal responsibility, reached either through two years of documented experience or a formal 48-hour-plus-600-hour training pathway. North Carolina's Locksmith Licensing Act (Chapter 74F) requires renewal every three years and 16 hours of continuing education per cycle, overseen by a nine-member board. None of that is a box an AI dispatch agent can check by assuming "the technician probably has a license" — it's the reason a specific, accountable person exists behind every job in those states.

    The Two Bright Lines: Authorization and the Quote

    If this article has two sentences worth remembering, they are these: an AI agent should never authorize entry work at a property or vehicle based only on a caller's unverified word, and an AI agent should never lock in a single guaranteed price for a job it hasn't actually diagnosed. Both are places where a fast, helpful automated system is structurally the wrong actor to make the final call — and, unlike in most verticals, both map directly onto a documented, active fraud pattern rather than a hypothetical edge case.

    Authorization.Google's own March 2025 lawsuit — which named a Maryland man, the owner of a business called Eagle Locksmith, and unidentified co-conspirators, and settled with a stipulated permanent injunction on 5 December 2025 — described a scheme built on more than 10,000 fake or hijacked Google Maps business listings, concentrated specifically in what Google calls "duress verticals": locksmiths and towing companies, the two services people call under the most time pressure and with the least ability to check who's actually showing up. That case was about fraudulent listings rerouting calls, not about an AI agent per se — but the underlying vulnerability is the same one an AI dispatch agent inherits the moment it takes a caller's claim of ownership at face value. An agent can gather facts and route the call quickly. It should never be the thing that decides, alone, that the person asking to be let into a home, car or safe is actually entitled to be.

    QuestionWhat the record showsWho may actPractical control
    Can an AI agent unlock a home, vehicle or safe for a caller who says it's theirs, based only on the phone call?Google's own March 2025 lawsuit (settled with a permanent injunction 5 December 2025) and the FTC's own advisory both describe fraudulent dispatch and bait-and-switch pricing as the two dominant locksmith scam patterns — an AI agent dispatching on unverified word alone is a liability channel, not a convenience featureNever the agent aloneRequire an ownership/authorization step (an ID check on arrival, or a pre-verified account/address match) before a technician performs entry work, and log who confirmed it
    Can an AI agent quote a fixed price over the phone for a job it hasn't actually diagnosed?The FTC's advisory describes the pattern directly: a low quoted price, followed by a claim that the job is more difficult than expected once the technician arrives, followed by a much higher billAgent may quote a disclosed range with an explicit on-site-assessment caveat; never a single guaranteed number for jobs prone to wide variance (broken-key extraction, high-security or electronic locks, safe work)Script every quote as a range with a stated reason the price could move, and require any material increase to be re-confirmed with the customer before work proceeds
    Can a locksmith's own online presence be hijacked or duplicated to reroute calls?Google's suit describes exactly this: legitimate business profiles duplicated or hijacked, with calls silently rerouted to an unrelated, unaccountable locksmith who then bait-and-switches the priceNot an agent decision — an operational monitoring practiceMonitor your own Google Business Profile and directory listings for unauthorized edits or duplicate listings on a recurring schedule, not just at setup
    Can a locksmith's AI agent book a key-fob programming job for any make of vehicle?Several manufacturers (BMW, Mercedes-Benz, Audi, Land Rover, Jaguar, Lexus, Porsche and Tesla among those commonly cited) use encrypted key systems gated behind dealer-only tools or manufacturer authorizationThe agent may take the make/model/year at intake; only a technician with verified OEM-authorized access for that manufacturer should confirm the job as bookableMaintain a current, technician-specific list of which manufacturers' key systems your team can actually service, and check the agent's intake against it before confirming, not after a truck rolls

    The quote. The FTC's own consumer advisory on finding a locksmith names the second pattern directly: a caller gets a low, attractive quote over the phone, and once the technician arrives, the job is declared more difficult than expected, with the price rising well past what was promised. An AI agent that commits to a single flat number before anyone has actually looked at the lock, the key, or the vehicle's security system isn't offering good customer service — it's automating the exact structure regulators have been warning consumers about for years, just faster and at higher volume. The fix is the same design discipline this site has argued for in every other regulated vertical: automate the reversible and low-consequence steps — intake, triage, scheduling — and put a human decision, or at minimum a hard-coded range with a disclosed reason it could move, at the exact point where the action becomes a promise the business is on the hook to keep.

    A Worked Example: When Off-the-Shelf Beats a Custom Build

    Consider a single-truck locksmith operating in a state with no statewide licensing requirement, doing mostly residential lockouts and rekeys with a modest, fairly predictable call volume. This is squarely the market Rosie, AgentZap and Trillet are built for — published tiers running from roughly $49 to $299/month, scoped clearly by feature, with no multi-jurisdiction licensing complexity to unify. For an operator this size, paying for an existing, published-price product and adding a simple, hard-coded rule ("never confirm a single price before the technician sees the lock") is very likely the right call, and a custom build would be overkill.

    Now consider a regional locksmith and security-integration company running crews across three or four states, including at least one — say, California or Texas — that requires individual and company licensing, plus a growing automotive division doing key-fob work across a mix of vehicle brands, some of which require dealer-authorized programming access the company doesn't have for every make. That is precisely where an off-the-shelf answering service's generic scheduling logic starts to strain: a fob job that's bookable for a Honda isn't automatically bookable for a Tesla, and a licensing check that's correct in a non-licensing state is wrong the moment the same script runs in California. That is where Frenchy Digital's discovery-and-audit engagement ($9k–$22k, 2–4 weeks) earns its cost: mapping which workflows genuinely need cross-jurisdiction and cross-manufacturer logic, which off-the-shelf pieces can stay exactly as they are, and where a purpose-built AI agent with hard-coded licensing and OEM-access checks is worth the higher cost of a single-workflow build ($28k–$70k, 4–9 weeks).

    This is deliberately not a projected-revenue or missed-call-recovery scenario — we are not going to invent a dollar figure for "calls saved," for the same reason we refused this category's "62% missed call rate" figure earlier in this article. The honest arithmetic here is about jurisdiction count, published pricing, and licensing exposure, all of which you can verify yourself, not about an outcome nobody has independently measured.

    The Human-in-the-Loop Boundary

    The table below sets out, action by action, what a locksmith AI agent can reasonably do alone and what it should never do without a human — the authorization and quoting boundaries from the section above are two rows among several with the same underlying logic: automate the reversible and low-consequence, escalate anything tied to fraud exposure, licensing status, or a manufacturer restriction you can't verify from a phone call alone.

    ActionWho may do itWhy the line sits hereControl that makes it safe
    Answer service-area, pricing-range and hours questionsAgent aloneRetrieval from a source the operator controls, with no open-ended commitmentSingle source of truth for pricing ranges and coverage area; log the record version behind every answer
    Book or reschedule a routine, non-emergency appointment (rekey, lock change, mailbox or cabinet lock)Agent alone, with a confirmation textReversible, low-consequence, and the customer has an easy correction pathConfirmation on every booking; nightly diff against the actual technician schedule
    Triage an emergency lockout call (address, urgency, home vs. vehicle vs. business, make/model if automotive)Agent alone, routing to the nearest available technicianGathering facts and routing is not the same as authorizing entryA fixed triage script with logged fields, reviewed periodically against real outcomes
    Quote a jobAgent may give a disclosed price range with an on-site-assessment caveat; never a single guaranteed number for variance-prone categoriesDirectly tied to the bait-and-switch bright line belowScript every quote as a range plus a stated reason it could move
    Authorize entry or unlock work at a property or vehicleNever the agent aloneThis is exactly where locksmith fraud concentrates, per Google's own litigation and the FTC's advisoryA hard, logged ownership/ID-verification step before the technician proceeds
    Confirm a technician is licensed for a job in a licensing state or city/countyAgent checks against your own maintained roster before bookingLegal exposure attaches to dispatch, not just to how the job is performedHard block on booking if license status isn't current in your system
    Confirm an automotive key-fob job is technically possible for a given makeAgent checks intake against a maintained OEM-access list before booking as a fixed appointmentDealer-only key systems make a casual "yes" unreliable without verificationMaintain and update the OEM-access list; block booking on a mismatch
    Take a card payment over the phoneAgent alone, using DTMF masking or an equivalentRoutine and low-risk when the payment flow keeps raw card data out of the agent entirelyVerify DTMF masking in writing; never allow the agent to accept a spoken card number
    Make an outbound follow-up or marketing callAgent may call within a documented consent classificationTCPA and Do Not Call registry exposure attaches to the call's purpose, independent of who or what places itClassify every call template by purpose before it ships; screen cold-outreach numbers against the DNC registry
    Respond to a negative online reviewAgent drafts, a human sendsReview text is untrusted external content, and a bad automated reply outlives every good oneDraft state only inside your own system; no send credential in any session that reads external review text

    On the response-time point specifically: a voice agent that takes too long to pick up or process an emergency lockout call loses exactly the advantage vendors sell it on, unverified industry-wide figures aside — and for a service people call under genuine time pressure, that gap is more consequential than in most trades. If you're evaluating how quickly a candidate agent actually responds under load, rather than in a demo, our guide to AI agent latency engineering covers the streaming and routing questions worth putting to a vendor directly.

    What Breaks First

    Every one of these failure modes has a real precedent somewhere in the research behind this article — a documented fraud pattern this exact industry has already been targeted by, a licensing rule that only applies in some states, a manufacturer restriction that predates every AI product in this category. Instrument for these before you need to.

    Failure modeHow you find outDetection signal to instrumentRollback
    A caller impersonating a property or vehicle owner gets dispatched entry workA police report, an insurance claim, or a victim complaintLog every entry-authorization confirmation and who gave itSuspend the specific technician or workflow; require in-person ID verification going forward
    A quoted price balloons on-site with no logged reasonA chargeback, a BBB complaint, or an online review describing the exact bait-and-switch pattern the FTC warns aboutFlag any final invoice exceeding the quoted range by more than a set percentage without a logged on-site reasonRefund or adjust the charge, and audit that technician's or script's quoting pattern
    Your Google Business Profile or a directory listing gets duplicated or hijacked, rerouting callsA customer complaint about being charged by "someone else," or a platform notificationA recurring manual check of your own listings against known duplicatesReport to Google or the directory immediately, per the enforcement pattern in Google's 2025 suit
    A vendor acquisition, funding round or ownership change quietly redirects a platform's AI roadmap or support qualityAn integration degrades with no release noteWatch each vendor's funding and ownership status on a recurring calendar, not just at signingKeep an exportable record of call logs, job history and customer records so switching cost stays bounded
    An AI agent books an automotive key-fob job the assigned technician can't actually complete because the vehicle's OEM system blocks non-dealer toolsA wasted truck roll and an angry customerLog every fob-job booking against the maintained OEM-access list and flag mismatchesPre-screen the make and model at booking time, not on arrival
    Prompt injection through untrusted text (a customer's text message, a review, a photo caption)The agent takes an action a normal customer interaction would never triggerLog every tool call the agent makes; alert on any write action initiated within a session that read external contentRevoke the write credential for that agent identity; injection is unsolved, so the control is blast radius, not detection

    On the data-retention point specifically: an agent that keeps call recordings, customer addresses and entry-authorization records longer than a workflow actually requires is accumulating both storage cost and legal exposure with no operational upside. If you're evaluating how a vendor's agent should store and retire this kind of data over time, our guide to AI agent memory architecture covers the retention questions worth asking before you assume "it remembers everything" is a feature rather than a liability, and our guide to prompt injection and the OWASP LLM Top 10 covers why a customer's text message or a photo of a broken key should be treated as untrusted input by default, not as instructions the agent can act on directly.

    Cost and Timeline

    EngagementRangeTimelineWhat it covers in a locksmith context
    Discovery + workflow audit$9k–$22k2–4 weeksCall and dispatch-volume baseline from your own phone and job data, a licensing-jurisdiction review across every state, city and county you operate in, and a vendor shortlist with the RFP questions we'd put in writing
    Single-workflow agent$28k–$70k4–9 weeksOne workflow end to end — emergency dispatch and triage, PCI-compliant phone payments, or automotive fob-job pre-screening — with hard-coded escalation for authorization and quoting decisions
    Multi-workflow platform with system integration$70k–$180k9–16 weeksSeveral workflows across your dispatch software, phone platform and technician licensing roster, a golden-set regression suite, and an owner-facing reporting pack
    Enterprise / multi-location / regulated build$180k–$420k+14–24 weeksMulti-state rollout with per-jurisdiction licensing-rule versioning, full audit logging with human-approver attribution on every authorization and quoting decision, and a documentation package your counsel can review

    Senior-led work runs $150–$225 per hour, retainers run $2,500–$9,500 per month, every build carries a 30-day post-launch warranty, and full source-code and IP ownership transfers to you. We return a fixed-price phased proposal within 5 business days of a discovery call. If a published-price product already covers your workflow, we will tell you so rather than propose a custom build you do not need — the honest answer for a single-truck operator in a non-licensing state is very often "buy an existing product like Rosie's, AgentZap's or Trillet's," not "hire an agency." If your operation runs on a legacy dispatch system that doesn't expose a clean API, our guide to modernizing legacy systems for AI agents covers what that integration work actually looks like before you commit to a build.

    Red Flags When Evaluating a Vendor

    • No disclosed methodology behind a missed-call or "more bookings" claim: a vendor that cites a specific percentage but won't say how it's measured, over what period, or against what denominator, is asking you to take a marketing claim on faith.
    • An agent that confirms a single guaranteed price before a technician has seen the job: if the AI's quote sounds final rather than a disclosed range, ask directly how it avoids reproducing the exact bait-and-switch pattern the FTC has warned about.
    • No documented ownership or ID-verification step before entry work is authorized: if a vendor can't describe exactly how its agent avoids dispatching on an unverified caller's word alone, that's a design gap tied directly to a documented fraud pattern in this industry, not a minor workflow detail.
    • No jurisdiction-aware licensing logic: a dispatch tool that treats every service address the same, regardless of state or city-level licensing requirements, is a compliance gap waiting for a multi-state rollout.
    • No maintained list of which vehicle manufacturers a fob job can actually be completed for: a booking tool that confirms automotive key-fob appointments without checking OEM-access restrictions is setting up a wasted truck roll, not a completed job.
    • Outdated ownership information in a vendor's own marketing: a vendor's site that doesn't reflect a recent acquisition or funding round (its own, or a close competitor's) is a signal its content isn't being kept current — ask directly about current ownership before signing.
    • No named DTMF-masking or equivalent for phone payments: if a vendor's AI agent takes card payments and can't describe, specifically, how it keeps raw card data out of its own audio and transcripts, that's a PCI compliance gap, not a detail to sort out later.

    Limitations and What We Could Not Verify

    Exact current AI-feature pricing for Workiz, Housecall Pro, ServiceTitan, TheKeyBot and Smith.ai's locksmith-specific plan is either gated behind a sales conversation or not published by the vendor at all, and where we cited a third-party estimate (Workiz's roughly $200/month for Genius Answering, Jobber's reported $99/month add-on, Smith.ai's roughly $292.50/month hybrid plan) we said so explicitly rather than presenting it as vendor-confirmed. We could not independently confirm specific investor detail for TheKeyBot, Trillet or Smith.ai beyond what public trackers and each company's own materials disclose. We did not independently test any vendor's product; every functional description in this article comes from the vendor's own published materials, press coverage naming the vendor directly, or government and court documents, checked this session.

    This article discusses 13 states' locksmith licensing requirements, three of them (California, Texas, North Carolina) in specific detail, plus Google's 2025 litigation and the FTC's general consumer advisory, as illustrations of real risk categories; it is not a fifty-state survey and not a substitute for reading your own state's and city's current statute directly. Licensing categories, local ordinances, and the exact scope of any given lawsuit's settlement terms can change; verify all of it against a primary source and your own counsel before relying on it, not against this article or any AI-generated summary, including ours.

    Want an Honest Read on Your Locksmith AI Shortlist?

    Book a free 60-minute discovery call. You leave with a call-volume baseline from your own data, a licensing and authorization-workflow review, and a fixed-price phased proposal within 5 business days.

    1517 S Bentley Ave Apt 204, Los Angeles CA 90025

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Sources & References

    1. 1ALOA (Associated Locksmiths of America) — Advocacy & State Legislation↗
    2. 2Locksmith Ledger — "Locksmith Licensing: A State-by-State Review"↗
    3. 3California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services — Locksmith Company and Locksmith Employee Fact Sheet↗
    4. 4Texas Department of Public Safety — Private Security Program↗
    5. 5Texas DPS — Types of Individual Licenses (Private Security)↗
    6. 6North Carolina General Statutes, Chapter 74F — Locksmith Licensing Act↗
    7. 7North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Board — Resources↗
    8. 8Federal Trade Commission — Consumer Advice: "Finding a Locksmith"↗
    9. 9Google Affirmative Litigation — Case overview↗
    10. 10CBS News — "Google finds 10,000 fake listings on Google Maps, sues alleged network of scammers"↗
    11. 11KBTX (AP) — "Google files lawsuit on scammers using platform to swindle users"↗
    12. 12Legal Reader — "Google Files Lawsuit Against Scammers Behind 10,000+ Fake Listings and Reviews"↗
    13. 13TechCrunch — "Workiz locks in $13M for productivity tools aimed at home services professionals"↗
    14. 14PR Newswire — "Workiz Raises $40 Million Series C to Make Management of Home Service Teams Easy"↗
    15. 15TechCrunch — "Field management software startup Workiz raises $5 million Series A"↗
    16. 16Housecall Pro — CSR AI product page↗
    17. 17Rosie — Locksmith Answering Service↗
    18. 18Rosie — AI Answering Service Plans & Pricing↗
    19. 19Smith.ai — Locksmith Answering Service↗
    20. 20AgentZap — AI Receptionist for Locksmiths↗
    21. 21Trillet — "AI Answering Service for Locksmiths"↗
    22. 22ElevenLabs — Locksmith AI Answering Service & Virtual Receptionist↗
    23. 23TechCrunch — "ElevenLabs raises $500M from Sequoia at an $11 billion valuation"↗
    24. 24TheKeyBot — About↗
    25. 25PCI Pal — "DTMF Masking for Secure, PCI DSS Compliant Payments"↗
    Chris Machetto - CEO & Founder of Frenchy Digital

    Chris Machetto

    CEO & Founder of Frenchy Digital. Building apps and digital products since 2019 for startups and enterprises across LA, San Francisco, Paris, Geneva, and more globally.