The Question on the Call
"Every agency I talked to said they were HIPAA compliant. So how do I pick?"
That's a paraphrase of what a practice owner asked me this year, and I didn't have a clean answer. So I went and checked ten of the firms that keep showing up when you search for healthcare app developers.
Here's the claim, with the date on it. On September 29, 2026 I read the public pages of ten healthcare app development companies. All ten describe HIPAA-compliant development. Zero of ten say, on the pages I checked, that they sign a business associate agreement with their clients.
That gap is the whole story of this market, and it's why I built the ranking the way I did. "HIPAA compliant" is an adjective. A BAA is a signed contract that puts the developer on the hook for the patient data it touches. You want the contract.
To be clear about the conflict up front: I run Frenchy Digital, which builds healthcare apps. It isn't in the scored table. It gets its own disclosed section near the end, scored on the same rubric (10 of 12, which would tie TechAhead and place first on the tiebreak), with a plain list of who should pick someone else.
This is the pillar of a five-part series. The other four go deeper on the pieces a ranking can only point at: which hosting providers will sign a BAA, what a telehealth app needs and costs, how EHR integration works with FHIR and SMART on FHIR, and the security requirements a patient-facing mobile app should meet.
What Healthcare Lists Get Wrong
Most healthcare app developer rankings fail for three reasons: the author is on the list, the firms are scored on their own outcome numbers, and "HIPAA compliant" is treated as a fact rather than a claim.
The first one is easy to spot once you look. Several of the most visible 2026 healthcare app rankings are published by app agencies. That's common across the industry, and I'm not above it, which is why my company sits outside the table here.
The second is the one that makes most lists useless. A ranking that credits a firm with "50% fewer clinic visits" or "$1 million in recovered revenue" is repeating that firm's case study. There's no neutral registry of healthcare app outcomes. Nobody outside the agency audits those numbers.
The third is specific to healthcare, and it's the one I care about most. The wrong model says a developer is either HIPAA compliant or it isn't, and the badge tells you which. The real model is that HIPAA compliance is a property of how a specific system is built and operated, and the developer's part of it is written down in a BAA and a contract.
There's no government HIPAA certification a vendor can hold. When a site says "HIPAA certified", it's using its own words for its own practices. That doesn't make it false. It makes it unscoreable.
Therefore: the question isn't "are you HIPAA compliant?" It's "will you sign our BAA, which people will touch PHI, and can I see your SOC 2 report?" You'll see in the scoreboard how rarely those answers are on the website.
One more piece of context that changes how you read any vendor's compliance page. The big HIPAA Security Rule rewrite is still a proposal. It was published in the Federal Register on January 6, 2025, and the federal agenda now projects final action no earlier than July 2027. The existing rule governs today. A vendor that talks about "the new HIPAA requirements" as law is ahead of the facts.
Who Made the Cut
To be ranked, a firm had to show healthcare app or healthcare software work on its own site, and show no sign of having been acquired or shut down.
I started from about fifteen names that recur across healthcare app rankings and search results, then cut. Here's who didn't make it.
- WillowTree: Appears on healthcare app lists, but TELUS International completed its acquisition on January 4, 2023. It's now part of a large public company, not an independent agency. Out.
- List authors: Agencies that published their own 2026 healthcare app ranking with themselves near the top weren't scored here, for the same reason my company isn't in the table.
- Global consultancies: Accenture, Deloitte and similar firms have large health practices, but a clinic or founder can't hire them for a patient app the way they'd hire an agency. Out of scope.
- Firms with no health work shown: Several app studios list healthcare as an industry but showed no healthcare project on the pages I checked. Out.
On acquisitions: the WillowTree deal is documented in a TELUS release (the page blocks automated readers, but the completion date is repeated in its SEC filing and press coverage). For the ten finalists, searches found no acquisition, merger or shutdown news from 2024 to 2026.
That's a clean result, and I'm careful with it. Absence from search results isn't proof of independence. If ownership matters to you (it should, because a new parent can change who signs your BAA and whose security program covers your data), ask directly.
How I Scored Them
Six attributes, 0 to 2 points each, twelve maximum, all checked on September 29, 2026 from pages anyone can open.
- Named healthcare app work: 2 for named healthcare projects (a client or product name); 1 for healthcare work described by type without names; 0 for categories only.
- Public BAA posture: 2 for a statement on the company's own site that it signs BAAs with clients; 1 for a HIPAA-compliant development claim without that statement; 0 for nothing.
- Security attestation claimed: 2 for SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HITRUST claimed on the company's own site; 1 for a quality-only ISO or an ambiguous standards mention; 0 for none. Every credit is a claim; I saw no reports.
- Published pricing: 2 for price figures on the company's own site; 0 for none. Nobody in this set landed in between.
- IP and source code terms: 2 for an explicit ownership statement; 0 for nothing stated.
- Years operating: 2 for ten or more years or a founding year of 2016 or earlier stated on the company's own site; 1 for a founding year from third-party profiles only, or under ten years; 0 for none found.
Ties break on named healthcare work, then years operating, then alphabetically.
What I excluded, and why.Patient outcomes, visit reductions, revenue recovered, user counts, funding raised by clients and accuracy figures, because every one is the agency's own number. Headcount, because it says nothing about who works on your app. Awards, because most are paid or self-nominated.
Review ratings.I didn't score them and I don't print any. The big directories block automated readers, so ratings reach me only through search snippets and the companies' own badges, and I couldn't confirm any at the source. A number I can't see on the source page isn't a number I'll rank on.
How to re-check it.Open each company's homepage, healthcare page, about page and FAQ. Search the site for "BAA", "business associate", "SOC 2", "pricing" and "intellectual property". Look at the portfolio for named healthcare apps. It takes about ten minutes a firm. If a company has published something since September 29, its score should change.
The Scoreboard and Evidence
TechAhead leads with 10 of 12 and ScienceSoft follows with 9. After that the field bunches, and three firms tie on 4 at the bottom.
| Rank | Company | Named health apps | BAA posture | Security attestation | Pricing | IP terms | Years | Total / 12 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TechAhead | 1 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 10 |
| 2 | ScienceSoft | 2 | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 9 |
| 3 | Chetu | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 | 7 |
| 4 | Intellectsoft | 2 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 7 |
| 5 | Mindbowser | 1 | 1 | 2 | 0 | 2 | 0 | 6 |
| 6 | Sidebench | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| 7 | Orangesoft | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 5 |
| 8 | Topflight Apps | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 4 |
| 9 | Dogtown Media | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
| 10 | Itransition | 0 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 2 | 4 |
Do the arithmetic. The ten scores add to 61, so the average is 6.1 of 12, about 51%. The leader discloses about 1.6x what the average firm does. The bottom three sit at 4, which is 0.4x the leader.
Now read the columns instead of the rows, because that's where the finding is.
BAA posture: every firm scores exactly 1. All ten say HIPAA compliant; none says it signs a BAA. The column doesn't separate anyone, and that's the point. Pricing: eight of ten score zero. IP terms: seven of ten score zero.
So the market is open about its healthcare experience and its badges, and quiet about the three things that decide your risk: the contract that covers PHI, what it costs and who owns the code. Whoever you shortlist, you'll almost certainly have to ask for all three in writing.
Every score traces to a cell below. Everything in this table is the company's own statement, seen on its own site.
| Company | Named healthcare work | BAA / HIPAA wording | Attestation (claimed) | Pricing | IP terms | Years |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TechAhead | Healthcare page describes fitness and wellness apps without naming them | HIPAA and HITECH wording; no BAA statement seen | SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001:2022, ISO/IEC 42001:2023 | MVP $50k to $100k; medium $100k to $250k; enterprise $250k to $500k | Full IP ownership transfers after delivery and payment | 16+ years (own site) |
| ScienceSoft | UNM Health Sciences Center app, MindCare telehealth, Chiron Health telehealth app | Advises readers to sign a BAA with vendors; no statement that it signs | ISO 13485, ISO 27001, ISO 9001 | Simple patient app from $30k; telemedicine $150k to $250k; EHR $400k+ | Not publicly disclosed | Healthcare IT since 2005 (own site) |
| Chetu | SASAdoctor telehealth, DrOrdz web app | HIPAA-compliant wording; no BAA statement seen | None seen on pages checked | Says pricing is transparent; no figures | You own the IP for everything we build | Founded 2000 (own site) |
| Intellectsoft | Transplant Hero, Xmed, Waterbalance | HIPAA badge; no BAA statement seen | ISO 27001 and ISO 9001 badges | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Healthcare IT since 2007 (own site) |
| Mindbowser | Case studies described by type, clients not named | HIPAA-ready delivery; no BAA statement seen | SOC 2 Type II audited | Not publicly disclosed | Complete IP ownership | Not found on pages checked |
| Sidebench | NOCD app, Baby Steps LA, Cortica | HIPAA compliance link; no BAA statement seen | None seen on pages checked | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | 14 years of healthcare work (own site) |
| Orangesoft | Stroke telemedicine app, virtual hospital, surgical counting (clients not named) | HIPAA badge; no BAA statement seen | ISO 9001:2015 (quality, not security) | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Since 2011 (own site) |
| Topflight Apps | MSK Care AI, GaleAI, clinical trial work, Epic integration apps | HIPAA-compliant apps; no BAA statement seen | None seen on homepage | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | 2016 per third-party profiles only |
| Dogtown Media | Minneapolis Heart Institute app | HIPAA-compliant app development service; no BAA statement seen | None seen on pages checked | Not publicly disclosed | Not publicly disclosed | Founded 2011 (own site) |
| Itransition | Healthcare categories listed, no named app | HIPAA and HITECH delivery experience; no BAA statement seen | ISO/IEC 27701 named among standards (ambiguous) | Not publicly disclosed; contact sales | Not publicly disclosed | Founded 1998 (own site) |
A few cells need a note. TechAhead scores 1 on named work because its healthcare page describes fitness and wellness apps without naming them; its wider portfolio names more, but the rubric scores healthcare work specifically.
ScienceSoft came closest to a 2 on BAA posture. Its mobile HIPAA page tells readers to sign a BAA with any outsourced developer that has access to PHI. That's good advice. It isn't a statement that ScienceSoft signs one, and a search snippet claiming it would didn't match the page I fetched. So it's a 1, like everyone else.
Topflight Apps scores 1 on years because the 2016 founding year appears only on third-party profiles, and a SOC 2 claim I saw in a search snippet wasn't on its homepage when I checked, so it isn't credited. If it's on another page, the score goes up.
The Ten, Profiled
Each profile says who the firm suits, what I could verify, and what I couldn't.None of this is a quality judgment. I haven't worked with any of them.

TechAhead
published prices, IP terms and a SOC 2 claim
Score: 10 of 12. Suits: funded digital health companies and mid-market providers that want a large firm with a written price range and a stated IP position before the first call.
Verifiable: its FAQ publishes an MVP at $50,000 to $100,000, medium-scale applications at $100,000 to $250,000 and enterprise solutions at $250,000 to $500,000, says full IP ownership transfers once a project is delivered and paid for, and claims SOC 2 Type II, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and ISO/IEC 42001:2023. Its healthcare page covers remote monitoring, telehealth and mental health apps and says it has 16+ years in the field.
Not verifiable:I saw the certification claims, not the reports. The healthcare page calls its practices "HIPAA & HITECH certified", which isn't a government credential. No BAA statement on the pages checked. The client and solution counts are its own.

ScienceSoft
the only published healthcare cost table
Score: 9 of 12. Suits: health systems, labs and device companies that want a long-running engineering firm with quality-system certifications.
Verifiable: its healthcare page says it has worked in healthcare IT since 2005, claims ISO 13485, ISO 27001 and ISO 9001, and names a mobile app for the UNM Health Sciences Center and a telehealth platform for MindCare Solutions. Its HIPAA software page publishes typical costs: a simple patient mobile app from $30,000, telemedicine software at $150,000 to $250,000 and a custom EHR at $400,000 or more, and names a Chiron Health telehealth app.
Not verifiable: no IP terms and no statement that it signs BAAs. The cost figures are its typical ranges, not quotes, and they exclude cloud and license fees.

Chetu
an IP promise in one sentence
Score: 7 of 12. Suits: practices and health IT vendors that need EHR, billing or pharmacy software work from a large US-headquartered firm.
Verifiable: its healthcare page says "You own the IP for everything we build," names the SASAdoctor telehealth project and the DrOrdz web app, and lists a Sunrise, Florida headquarters. Its about page says it was founded in 2000.
Not verifiable: the page says pricing is transparent from the outset, but shows no figures. No security attestation or BAA statement on the pages checked. User counts on its case studies are its own.

Intellectsoft
named patient apps and an ISO 27001 badge
Score: 7 of 12. Suits: companies building consumer health or medication apps that want a firm with long mobile history and a security badge.
Verifiable: its healthcare page says it has provided healthcare IT services since 2007 and names Transplant Hero (a medication adherence app for transplant patients), Xmed and Waterbalance. Its homepage shows HIPAA, ISO 9001 and ISO 27001 badges and a New York headquarters.
Not verifiable:badges aren't certificates, and I didn't see one. No pricing, IP terms or BAA statement. A homepage case study quotes a large time-saving percentage; that's its number, not scored.

Mindbowser
SOC 2 claim and IP ownership, clients unnamed
Score: 6 of 12. Suits: digital health teams that want a firm focused on FHIR, EHR and PHI-heavy builds.
Verifiable: its homepage says it is SOC 2 Type II audited, describes HIPAA-ready delivery with PHI safeguards in access, environments and release workflows, promises complete IP ownership, and lists a Jersey City address.
Not verifiable: its case studies describe projects by type (a health app with wearable and EHR integration, a behavioral health dashboard) without naming the client, so it scores 1 on named work. I didn't find a founding year on its homepage or about page. No pricing or BAA statement.
The bottom half isn't worse at building. It publishes less, and a couple of these firms have the deepest pure healthcare focus on the list.

Sidebench
healthcare-only studio with named products
Score: 5 of 12. Suits: digital health companies and providers that want a studio whose whole identity is healthcare.
Verifiable: Sidebenchnames the NOCD treatment app, Baby Steps LA for NICU families and Cortica's scheduling work, claims 60+ healthcare implementations over 14 years, links to a HIPAA compliance page and shows a 310 phone number.
Not verifiable: no street address, pricing, IP terms, attestation or BAA statement on the homepage.

Orangesoft
long mobile history, quality ISO only
Score: 5 of 12. Suits: telemedicine and hospital projects that want a mobile-first team with US and European phone lines.
Verifiable: Orangesoft says it has built digital products since 2011, shows a HIPAA badge and ISO 9001:2015, and describes a stroke patient telemedicine app, a virtual hospital platform and a surgical counting platform.
Not verifiable:ISO 9001 is a quality management standard, not a security one, so it scores 1 on attestation. Clients aren't named on the homepage. No pricing, IP terms or BAA statement.

Topflight Apps
strong named work, little else published
Score: 4 of 12. Suits: startups building AI or clinical workflow apps that need Epic integration and a team used to founders.
Verifiable: Topflight Apps names MSK Care AI, the GaleAI medical coding tool, clinical trial work and apps with Epic integration, says it builds HIPAA-compliant apps, and lists an Irvine, California address.
Not verifiable:founding year only on third-party profiles. No pricing, IP terms or attestation on the homepage. Its case studies carry outcome figures and a total raised by its partners; those are its numbers and aren't scored.

Dogtown Media
Venice studio with a health tech lean
Score: 4 of 12. Suits: health startups and device companies that want a Los Angeles team with remote monitoring and digital therapeutics experience.
Verifiable: its about page says it was founded in 2011 with headquarters in Venice. Its homepage offers HIPAA-compliant app development and names a Minneapolis Heart Institute app.
Not verifiable: no pricing, IP terms, attestation or BAA statement. The app count is its own.

Itransition
big bench, few names
Score: 4 of 12. Suits: enterprises that want a large engineering firm for EHR, CRM or analytics work more than a patient-facing app.
Verifiable: its homepage says it was founded in 1998 and employs 3,000+ engineers. Its healthcare page lists EHR, telehealth, patient portal and remote monitoring work and HIPAA and HITECH delivery experience, and names ISO/IEC 27701 among standards it works to.
Not verifiable:no named healthcare app on the pages checked, and the ISO mention doesn't say whether Itransition itself is certified, so it scores 1. Pricing goes through sales.
Picking by Buyer Type
The rank matters less than the fit. A 4 that matches your constraint beats a 10 that doesn't.
Decide your one non-negotiable first (a budget ceiling, a SOC 2 report for procurement, a written IP position, an EHR integration, a team you can meet) and see who survives it. Then compare the survivors on everything else.
| If you are | Start with | Why | Watch for |
|---|---|---|---|
| A clinic or founder who needs a budget before a call | TechAhead or ScienceSoft | The only ranked firms with figures on their own sites | ScienceSoft's figures are typical ranges, not quotes |
| A buyer whose security team wants a report | TechAhead, ScienceSoft, Intellectsoft or Mindbowser | They claim SOC 2 or ISO 27001 on their own sites | Ask for the report or certificate and its scope |
| A buyer whose lawyer wants IP terms first | TechAhead, Chetu or Mindbowser | The three that publish IP ownership language | A website sentence is not an assignment clause |
| A digital health startup that wants a product studio | Sidebench or Topflight Apps | Named digital health apps on their homepages | Neither publishes pricing or IP terms |
| A health system replacing a large internal system | ScienceSoft, Itransition or Chetu | Decades of operating history and large benches | Named app work is thin for Itransition |
| A team that wants to meet in Los Angeles | Dogtown Media or Sidebench | Venice headquarters; 310 number and LA work | Ask which office staffs the build |
| A clinic that wants senior people, a published band and full IP | Read the disclosed pick below | Price and IP are where most of this list scores zero | Smaller team by design |
Two rows deserve a longer word.
The EHR integration buyer. If your app has to read from or write to Epic, athenahealth or a dental system, the firm's integration experience matters more than anything in the table. And here's the part lists skip: certified API access is read-only by rule, so every write into the chart depends on what the EHR vendor allows. Ask each firm which writes it has shipped and through what path. The mechanics are in our EHR integration guide.
The procurement-led buyer.Four firms here claim SOC 2 or ISO 27001. A claim is where the conversation starts. Ask for the report, check the audit period, and check that the scope covers the team and systems that will touch your data. A SOC 2 that covers a head office but not the delivery center isn't the receipt you think it is.
If you're a practice rather than a startup, our healthcare industry page collects the guides we've written for clinics, from scheduling to intake to billing.
A Worked Shortlist
This is a scenario, not a client.
Consider a behavioral health group with four locations. It wants a patient app on iOS and Android: intake forms, appointment booking, secure messaging with clinicians, and a feed into its EHR. It has about $120,000 approved. Its compliance officer has two conditions: the developer signs the group's BAA, and the group owns the code.
Step one is the BAA. Zero of ten firms state they sign one. So the first cut isn't a cut; it's an email to every candidate with the group's BAA attached, asking for a yes or a marked-up copy within a week. How fast and how cleanly a firm answers that email is the best free signal you'll get.
Step two is IP. Three firms already publish ownership language: TechAhead, Chetu and Mindbowser. The other seven aren't out; they just have to put it in writing.
Step three is the budget, and here the arithmetic is worth doing out loud. $120,000 sits about 1.2x above TechAhead's published MVP ceiling of $100,000, and inside its $100,000 to $250,000 medium band at about 0.5x of that band's top. Against ScienceSoft's published range for telemedicine software ($150,000 to $250,000), it's about 0.8x the floor. So secure messaging plus EHR integration may push this project past a strict MVP. That's useful to know before the first call, not after the proposal.
Step four is the EHR. Reading appointments and demographics is one job. Writing intake answers into the chart is another, and it depends on the EHR vendor. The group should ask every shortlisted firm which of those two it has done, for which EHR.
Step five is hosting. The developer's BAA doesn't cover the cloud. The group also needs BAAs from the hosting provider, the messaging service and any AI model provider that touches PHI, which is the ground covered in HIPAA compliant app hosting.
Notice what the rank did in all of this: not much. The top scorer publishes the most, which saves an email or two. But any of the ten could say yes to the BAA tomorrow. The total is a summary; the columns are the tool.
Numbers I Refuse to Print
Several figures came up again and again while I built this, and none of them should travel as fact.
The first group is case study outcomes: visit reductions, revenue recovered, time saved, users reached, money raised by clients. I saw all of these on the ten sites. Every one is published by the company about its own work, with no method and nobody outside checking. They aren't scored, and where I mention one in a profile I say whose it is.
The second is portfolio counters: apps launched, healthcare solutions delivered, platforms supported, clients served. Round numbers with a plus sign after them. Not scored.
The third is penalty anecdotes. A search summary told me a clinic paid a specific large penalty for sharing PHI with a vendor before a BAA was signed. It came from a vendor blog, and I couldn't trace it to an HHS resolution agreement in the time I had. So I won't print the number, even though the point it illustrates is sound.
The fourth is review ratings. I didn't see any on a public listing I could read directly, so there are no ratings in this article.
And the last is "HIPAA certified". It shows up on vendor pages as if it were a credential. It isn't one the government issues. I report the wording where I saw it and don't credit it.
Red Flags in a Proposal
Once you have two or three healthcare proposals, these are the lines I'd look for first.
- HIPAA compliant, with no BAA: If the firm will touch PHI (production data, logs, support tickets), it should sign your BAA. A proposal that says compliant and never mentions a BAA is a menu, not a receipt.
- A badge with no report: Ask for the SOC 2 report or ISO certificate, the audit period and the scope. If it won't share under NDA, treat the badge as marketing.
- Real PHI in development: Developers shouldn't need real patient records to build. Ask how test data is generated and who can reach production.
- No clause assigning code and IP to you: Seven of ten ranked firms publish nothing on IP. Get a written assignment covering source, designs and store accounts.
- EHR writes promised on day one: Certified API access is read-only. A proposal that promises chart writes without naming the EHR vendor's path hasn't checked.
- Vendors missing from the budget: Hosting, messaging, e-signature, eligibility checks and AI models each need their own BAA and their own line item.
- Outcome numbers on slide one: Visit reductions from another client's app are that client's context. Ask for two references from apps like yours instead.
- No post-launch warranty: Ask what's fixed free after launch and for how long, and who responds if a security issue turns up.
If you want someone outside the build to check a proposal or an existing app against these, that's what our security audit service is for. The requirements we check against are listed in the secure mobile app requirements article.
Where This Can Go Wrong
A disclosure ranking has three failure modes, and you should know them before you rely on it.
First, it rewards firms that write things down. A studio with a brilliant clinical team and a thin website will score low. That's why I call it a shortlist tool and not a verdict. The cost of this failure is small: you might skip a good firm. The fix is cheap: email the ones you like and ask.
Second, claims can be stale or wrong. A SOC 2 badge can outlive its report. A pricing FAQ can be two years old. The cost is bigger here, because a buyer might skip the check. The fix is the same: ask for the document behind every claim you rely on.
Third, the rubric could miss what matters most for your project. It doesn't score EHR depth, clinical safety process or FDA experience, because I couldn't score them from public pages fairly. If your app might be a medical device, that question comes before anything in this table.
Why publish it anyway? Because the alternative is a list ranked on outcome numbers nobody checked. The downside of a disclosure ranking is bounded: at worst it sends you three extra emails. The downside of a ranking built on vendor claims isn't.
Limitations
Here's what I chased and couldn't establish.
- Build quality and patient outcomes: No neutral benchmark exists, and I commissioned no test builds.
- Whether each firm will sign a BAA: None says so on the pages checked. Several very likely do in practice. Only an email tells you.
- Certification reports: Every SOC 2 and ISO credit is a claim on the company's own site. I saw no reports.
- Review ratings: Directories block automated reads. None is printed or scored.
- Pages I didn't open: I checked homepages, healthcare pages, about pages and FAQs. A deeper page might publish pricing or a BAA statement.
- Acquisition status: Searches found no 2024 to 2026 acquisitions for the ten, which isn't proof there were none.
- Contract terms: BAAs, IP and liability usually live in agreements nobody publishes. Absence on a website isn't absence in a contract.
None of this makes the list less useful. It makes it a shortlist you can audit.
Our #1 Pick: Frenchy Digital
Frenchy Digital is my company. That's a conflict of interest, and it's why this pick sits outside the scored table and is labeled as mine.
So let me score it the same way first. Named healthcare app work: 2, because our case studies name a HIPAA-scoped oral surgery build and a clinic scheduling system. BAA posture: 2. We sign a BAA with every healthcare client, and our healthcare pagesays so publicly, which is the same test I held everyone else to. Security attestation: 0. We don't hold or claim a SOC 2, ISO 27001 or HITRUST. Pricing: 2. IP terms: 2. Years: 2, because we have been operating since 2016 in France, with our US company since 2019.
That's 10 of 12, tied with TechAhead. The tie breaks on named healthcare work, where we score 2 and TechAhead scores 1. That places us first of eleven, by one tiebreak, and I'd rather show you the arithmetic than hide it.
So why is it still my pick?Because the rubric measures disclosure across the whole market, and a clinic or health founder cares about a subset: senior people on the work, a price before the call, owning everything at the end, and PHI controls that start on day one rather than at the audit. That last one isn't in the table, because I can't score it from anyone's website. I can show you ours.
For Dr. Peter K. Cudjoe's oral surgery practice in Miami, we built what we call Zero Front Desk. A bilingual English and Spanish voice agent plays a recording and AI disclosure before any speech recognition starts, because Florida is an all-party consent state. The scheduling agent books through signed, opaque offer tokens, so it can't invent a slot that doesn't exist.
The intake red flags (bisphosphonates, anticoagulants, cardiac history, sedation risk) are deterministic TypeScript. The model only summarizes, with the patient's name stripped, through OpenAI under a BAA. Supabase runs with the HIPAA add-on and row-level security from the first migration, the app runs on Vercel Pro under a BAA, and nine custom CI gates include a PHI scan and a retention check.
To be clear about what went wrong, too: 47 booking links once pointed at a hostname with no DNS. We fixed them and added a check that fails the build if a link doesn't resolve. Vendor console drift pushed us to version the agent prompts in the repo. First commit to live booking took 31 days. The performance numbers in that case study are targets, not results, and I won't report them as outcomes.
For Clinique CGSA, a medical psychology clinic of 51 to 200 employees, we built a HIPAA-compliant scheduling system and an internal mobile app for staff, alongside social media management.
On price, we're a senior-led, Black-owned app and AI agency in Los Angeles. Discovery and an audit run $9k to $22k over 2 to 4 weeks. Our MVP development page publishes three tiers: $15,000 to $25,000, $30,000 to $50,000, and $55,000 to $75,000 and up. A multi-workflow platform with integration runs $70k to $180k over 9 to 16 weeks, and an enterprise, multi-site or regulated build runs $180k to $420k and up over 14 to 24 weeks. Senior time is $150 to $225 an hour. You get a fixed-price phased proposal within 5 business days, a 30-day post-launch warranty, and full source code and IP ownership.
Run the same arithmetic as the worked scenario. The behavioral health group's $120,000 sits inside our $70k to $180k integration band, about 0.67x its top. A regulated multi-site build starts at $180k, which is 1.5x that budget. So an honest answer to that group might be a phased first release, not the whole thing. For the deeper pattern on how we keep PHI out of places it shouldn't be, see our HIPAA app development guide.
Three Things This Week
You can get from this page to a defensible shortlist in about a week.Here's the order I'd do it in.
- 1.Write down your one non-negotiable (a BAA, a SOC 2 report, code ownership, an EHR integration, a budget ceiling) and use the buyer-type table to cut the list to two or three firms.
- 2.Email each of them the same four requests: a signed or marked-up copy of your BAA, the IP assignment clause from their standard agreement, any SOC 2 or ISO report with its scope, and a fixed-price phased proposal. Note who answers all four, and how fast.
- 3.On the call, ask which people will have access to PHI, how test data is created, which EHR writes they've shipped, and which of their own vendors will sign BAAs for your project. Screenshot every page you relied on, dated, and keep it with the proposal.
Whoever answers those emails with documents rather than adjectives is probably your developer. Time to send the emails.
Building a Healthcare App You Fully Own?
Book a discovery call with Frenchy Digital, a senior-led Black-owned Los Angeles agency. We scope the app, the PHI boundary and the integrations, and send a fixed-price phased proposal within 5 business days.
Shortlisting a Healthcare App Developer?
Book a discovery call. We scope the app, the PHI boundary and the integrations, and send a fixed-price phased proposal within 5 business days.
1517 S Bentley Ave Apt 204, Los Angeles CA 90025
Frequently Asked Questions
Sources & References
- 1TechAhead, FAQ with pricing ranges, IP ownership and certifications (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 2TechAhead, healthcare app development page (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 3ScienceSoft, healthcare IT services (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 4ScienceSoft, HIPAA-compliant software development with cost ranges (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 5ScienceSoft, HIPAA compliance for mobile apps (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 6Chetu, healthcare software development (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 7Chetu, about us (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 8Intellectsoft, homepage with certification badges (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 9Intellectsoft, healthcare page (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 10Mindbowser, homepage (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 11Mindbowser, about us (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 12Sidebench, homepage (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 13Orangesoft, homepage (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 14Topflight Apps, homepage (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 15Dogtown Media, homepage (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 16Dogtown Media, about page (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 17Itransition, healthcare page (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 18Itransition, homepage (checked September 29, 2026)↗
- 19TELUS, TELUS International completes acquisition of WillowTree (January 4, 2023; blocks automated readers)↗
- 20Coalfire, the HIPAA Security Rule update is delayed to July 2027↗

