Skip to main contentSkip to footer

    Top Rated & Verified

    Top Clutch App Development Company Black Owned United StatesTop Clutch Java Developers France 2026Top Clutch Service Line Blind Company Black Owned 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Minority Owned 2026Top Clutch Web Developers Black Owned 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Black Owned 2026Top Clutch Flutter Developers France 2026Top Clutch Health & Wellness App Developers France 2026Top Clutch Swift Company France 2026Top Clutch Machine Learning Company France 2026Top Clutch Chatbot Company France 2026Top Clutch Artificial Intelligence Company France 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Minority Owned Los Angeles
    Back to Blog
    AI Receptionist
    September 27, 2026
    26 min read

    AI Receptionist Pricing 2026:12 Vendors Compared

    Every price below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, with the link, checked on September 27, 2026. No estimates, no averages, no borrowed statistics. Then the part the pricing pages leave out: how each vendor counts a call, what compliance costs, and what a real month adds up to.

    A small business owner comparing AI receptionist pricing plans on a laptop beside a desk phone
    12
    AI receptionist vendors with a published, sourced price
    Vendor pricing pages, checked September 27, 2026
    $24.95
    Lowest paid entry plan (Upfirst Starter, 30 calls a month)
    upfirst.ai/pricing, checked September 27, 2026
    $2,000/mo
    Vapi's published HIPAA add-on with a BAA
    vapi.ai/pricing, checked September 27, 2026
    $0.0085
    Twilio US inbound local voice, per minute
    twilio.com voice pricing, checked September 27, 2026

    Key Takeaways

    • Twelve AI receptionist vendors published a usable price on September 27, 2026. Entry plans ran from $0 (Smith.ai's free AI tier, Bland and Vapi pay-as-you-go) to $299 a month (Newo.ai and Rosie's top published plan).
    • Vendors meter four different things: calls, minutes, unique customers, or seats plus credits. In our worked scenario, the same calls produced bills about 3.7x apart across packaged vendors, purely because of how each one counts.
    • Compliance is priced separately. Vapi listed a $2,000 a month HIPAA add-on per organization; Bland, Retell and Lindy keep the BAA on Enterprise; Trillet's HIPAA mode is not on its $49 plan.
    • Developer platforms look cheap per minute but pass through model and telephony costs, and someone still has to build and maintain the receptionist.
    • In a 200-call, 600-minute scenario, published prices produced monthly bills from about $84 (Bland, before transfers and build time) to about $385 (Smith.ai), with three vendors impossible to price from their public pages.
    • Human answering services cost more per minute on list price: Ruby's 200-minute plan works out to about $3.60 a minute and PATLive's to about $1.75, against about $0.45 on Dialzara's 220-minute AI plan.

    The sticker is not the bill

    The cheapest AI receptionist I found this week costs $0 a month. The most expensive published number was $30,000 a year, and that was described as where contracts start.Both numbers are real, both are on the vendors' own pages, and neither tells you what your phone will cost you.

    That gap is the whole reason this article exists. On September 27, 2026 I went through the pricing pages of every AI receptionist vendor I could find, kept the ones that publish a usable price, and wrote down exactly what each one charges and for what unit.

    Twelve made the cut. Every price below links to the page it came from, and every one carries the same check date. If a vendor changes its page tomorrow, you can see where I got it and check the new number yourself.

    Here is the wrong mental model most buyers bring to this: they compare the monthly plan prices, pick the cheapest one that sounds competent, and expect the invoice to match. That works for software that bills per seat. It does not work here, because an AI receptionist is priced like software but consumed like a utility.

    The right model is closer to a phone bill or an electricity bill. The plan price buys you an allowance. Your calls consume it. Whatever you use beyond the allowance is billed at a different rate, and each vendor measures consumption in a different unit.

    Therefore the question to ask is not which plan is cheapest. It is which unit of measurement flatters your call pattern, and what that vendor charges when you exceed it. The rest of this article answers that, vendor by vendor, then runs one worked month through all twelve.

    If you are earlier in the process and still deciding what category of product you even want (an answering service with AI, a developer platform, a vertical receptionist or a custom build), start with our AI receptionist software buyer's guide and come back here when you have a shortlist to price.

    Four ways vendors meter a call

    Every AI receptionist on this list meters one of four things: calls, minutes, unique customers, or seats plus credits. Which one your vendor uses will move your bill more than any discount code.

    Think about how a gym, a taxi and a buffet each charge you. The gym charges a flat membership, the taxi charges by distance, the buffet charges per person. Same hunger, three very different receipts. Phone calls work the same way here.

    1. Per call

    You buy a bundle of calls a month, and every call past the bundle costs a fixed amount regardless of length. Smith.ai and Upfirst both price this way. A 30-second "are you open Saturday" costs the same as an eight-minute new patient intake.

    That is a gift if your calls are long, and a tax if they are short. The downside nobody mentions: spam and wrong numbers count as calls too, and you will pay for them unless the vendor filters them first. Ask.

    2. Per minute

    You buy a bundle of minutes, and every minute past it costs a set rate. Dialzara, Trillet and RingCentral's AI Receptionist price this way, and so do the developer platforms, Bland and Vapi, which have no bundle at all on their entry tiers.

    Per minute is fair in the plain sense: you pay for what you use. The catch is in the billing increment. RingCentral bills its AI Receptionist overage in 30-second increments, rounded up, so a 61-second call is billed as 90 seconds. Across hundreds of short calls, that rounding is real money.

    3. Per unique customer

    Goodcall is the one vendor here that meters people rather than calls or time. Minutes are unlimited; what is capped is the number of distinct callers each month, with a per-customer charge past the cap.

    If your callers ring back three times to reschedule, you pay once. If you run a lot of one-off inbound calls from new people, such as a busy service business taking fresh leads, the cap fills faster than you might expect. It rewards loyalty and punishes growth, which is an odd thing for a lead-capture tool to do, so model both.

    4. Seat plus credits

    Some products are really a phone system or an agent platform with a receptionist bolted on. You pay per user per month for the platform, then buy call capacity as credits or call bundles. Quo's Sona agent and My AI Front Desk both work like this, and so does Lindy.

    The advantage is that you get the rest of the phone system in the same bill. The disadvantage is that the receptionist cost is split across two meters, and one of them (credits) often has no published per-call conversion, which makes it the hardest model to price in advance.

    Here is the one piece of arithmetic that decides most comparisons. Divide a per-call overage rate by a per-minute overage rate, and you get the break-even call length.

    Take Upfirst Pro, which charges $0.75 for each extra call, and Dialzara Plus, which charges $0.40 for each extra minute. $0.75 divided by $0.40 is about 1.9. So if your average call runs under roughly 1.9 minutes, the per-minute plan is cheaper at the margin; above that, the per-call plan wins, and the longer your calls, the harder it wins.

    To be clear, that is a marginal comparison. The included bundles differ too, and I run the full numbers in the scenario below. But if you remember one thing from this section, remember the division: it tells you which pricing family to shortlist before you read a single feature list.

    How I checked the prices

    A price appears in this article only if I read it on the vendor's own pricing page on September 27, 2026, and the link is in the sources list. Anything I could not see there is marked not captured or not computable, never filled in.

    That rule sounds obvious. It is not how most pricing roundups are built. A roundup that quotes a vendor's price from another roundup, which quoted it from a third, can carry a number that went stale somewhere along the chain. I would rather print a gap than a guess.

    The rules I held to

    • Source: The vendor's own pricing page only. No affiliate roundups, no review sites, no sales emails.
    • Date: Every page checked on September 27, 2026. Prices are in US dollars as shown that day.
    • Inclusion: The product has to answer inbound business calls as an AI receptionist, and the page has to show a usable price. Human answering services are compared separately.
    • No estimates: Where a page did not state included minutes, overage or what a unit means, the cell says so. I did not infer it.
    • Vendor claims: Compliance badges and statements such as SOC 2 or HIPAA are the vendor's own words. I did not inspect any certificate or audit report.
    • No quality scores: I did not score call quality or accuracy. No independent benchmark of commercial AI receptionists exists that I could find, so any score would be a vendor's number in disguise.

    That last rule deserves a sentence of its own. I looked for an independent, non-vendor evaluation of commercial AI receptionist products and did not find one. The rankings that come up in search are vendor or affiliate content. So this article compares what can be compared, which is price, and says nothing about which one sounds most human.

    If you want the opinionated version, where I rank vendors on the attributes that can be verified, that is our ranking of the best AI receptionist companies for 2026. This page stays on money.

    The 12 vendors side by side

    Here are the twelve, in rough order of entry price, with the model, what the entry plan includes and what overage costs. All figures are from the official pages listed in the sources, checked September 27, 2026.

    #VendorModelEntry priceIncludedOverageTrial or refund
    1Smith.ai AI ReceptionistPer call$0 (free tier); Pro $150/mo25 calls; Pro 75 calls$3.00/call on free; $2.50 on ProFree tier acts as trial
    2UpfirstPer call$24.95/mo ($20 annual)30 calls$1.50/call14 days
    3DialzaraPer minute$29/mo60 min$0.48/min7 days
    4RosieFlat tiers$49/moNot capturedNot captured7 days
    5TrilletPer minute$49/mo150 min, inbound only$0.20/min28-day money-back
    6RingCentral AI ReceptionistPer minute$49/mo standalone; $39 add-on100 min$0.50/min, 30-second increments rounded up14 days
    7GoodcallPer unique customer$79/mo per agent100 unique customers, unlimited minutes$0.50/customerNot verified
    8My AI Front DeskFlat plus credits$99/mo ($79 annual)200 voice min, 1,000 creditsCredits at $10 per 1,0007 days
    9Newo.aiPer unit$0 pay as you go; $299/mo plan50 free units once; 200 units$1.75/unit; $1.50 on plan50 free units
    10Quo SonaSeat plus call bundles$19/user/mo plus Sona tiers from $2510 Sona calls free$1.00 to $0.45/call7 days
    11Bland AIPer minute (platform)$0 platform feeNone$0.14/min talk, $0.05/min transferNo card on Start
    12VapiPer minute plus pass-through$0; Core $29/mo$5 free credit$0.05/min hosting plus models and telephonyFree credit

    Read the table the way you would read a restaurant menu with no portion sizes. The entry price is the smallest thing on offer, not what a real month costs. Rosie, for instance, published three clean plan prices but no included minutes I could capture, which makes it impossible to say what a busy month would add.

    Two rows are not like the others. Bland and Vapi are developer platforms: they sell you the voice engine by the minute, and you (or someone you hire) build the receptionist on top. Their per-minute numbers look tiny next to the packaged products because they leave out the thing the packaged products include, which is the receptionist.

    The widest honest statement the table supports: on September 27, 2026, published entry prices for AI receptionists ran from $0 to $299 a month, and overage ran from $0.20 a minute (Trillet) to $3.00 a call (Smith.ai's free tier). Everything else is your call pattern.

    Vendor by vendor

    Each vendor below gets its published prices, its unit, and the one thing on its pricing page I would ask about before signing. The links go to the exact page I read.

    1. Smith.ai AI Receptionist: per call, with a real free tier

    Smith.ai also sells human receptionists, and its AI Receptionist pricing page is separate. It prices per call. The free tier is $0 a month with 25 calls, then $3.00 a call. Pro is $150 a month for 75 calls, with extra calls at $2.50.

    Volume brings the rate down. A 150-call tier is $270 a month ($1.80 a call, extras at $2.30), and a 300-call tier works out to $1.67 a call with extras at $2.17. Enterprise starts at $500 a month for 300 calls; 500 calls is $800 ($1.60 a call, extras $2.10); 1,000 and up is custom.

    The free tier doubles as the trial, which I like: you can go live and see real calls before paying. The page names native integrations with Clio, Zapier and Calendly. What I would ask: whether spam and robocalls count toward your call allowance, because at $2.50 each they add up.

    2. Upfirst: the lowest paid entry plan on the list

    Upfirst also prices per call and has the lowest paid entry on this list. Starter is $24.95 a month ($20 billed annually) for 30 calls, with extra calls at $1.50. Premium is $59.95 ($48 annual) for 90 calls, extras at $1.

    Pro is $159.95 ($128 annual) for 300 calls, extras at $0.75. Scale is $299 ($240 annual) for 600 calls, extras at $0.70. Annual billing saves 20%, and there is a 14-day free trial. The page lists scheduling into Google, Outlook, Clio, Acuity and Calendly, plus a warm handoff to your team.

    Upfirst also lists "BAAs for compliance" as a plan feature, which is the vendor's claim and which I could not tie to a specific tier. What I would ask: which plan includes the BAA, in writing, before a healthcare practice signs up for Starter assuming it does.

    3. Dialzara: minute bundles that get cheaper as they grow

    Dialzara sells minute bundles. Business Lite is $29 a month for 60 minutes ($0.48 a minute over). Pro is $99 for 220 minutes ($0.45 over). Plus is $199 for 500 minutes ($0.40 over). Elite is $349 for 1,000 minutes ($0.35 over).

    There is also an outbound line: Starter at $750 a month for 1,500 contacts, Growth at $1,000 for 2,000, Scale at $1,500 for 3,000. No contract, a 7-day free trial, warm and blind transfers listed, and integrations through Zapier and Make.

    Sixty minutes on the entry plan is not much. At three minutes a call it is twenty calls. So Business Lite is a trial-sized plan in practice, and most real businesses will land on Pro or Plus. What I would ask: whether transfer time counts against your minutes.

    4. Rosie: clean plan prices, unclear allowances

    Rosie publishes three plans: Professional at $49 a month, Scale at $149 and Growth at $299, with annual billing giving two months free. Live call transfers are on Scale. There is a 7-day free trial.

    It also sells a Website Texting add-on at $50 a month for 25 conversations, then $1 each. That is a good example of the add-on pattern: the receptionist price is one line, and the channel you might assume comes with it is another.

    I could not capture the included minutes for each plan from the page, so I cannot tell you what a heavy month costs on Rosie. That is not an accusation; it is a gap. What I would ask: the included minutes and the overage rate per plan, in one sentence, in writing.

    5. Trillet: the lowest overage rate on the list

    Trillet's AI Receptionist is $49 a month for 150 minutes, then $0.20 a minute, inbound only. That $0.20 is the lowest overage rate among the packaged receptionists here.

    There is an agency white-label plan from $99 a month at $0.12 a minute after its included minutes, and a custom Enterprise tier. No setup fees. The receptionist plan carries a 28-day money-back guarantee; the white-label plan a 7-day free trial.

    The catch is compliance. Trillet says SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001 evidence is available (its claim), and it offers a HIPAA mode toggle on its Studio, Agency and Enterprise plans, but not on the $49 plan. A clinic cannot price itself off the cheap tier. What I would ask: the price of the cheapest plan with HIPAA mode and a BAA.

    6. RingCentral AI Receptionist: the incumbent option

    RingCentral sells its AI Receptionist (AIR) standalone from $49 a month with 100 minutes, or as an add-on to its RingEX phone system from $39 a month with 100 minutes, per its AIR pricing page. Overage is $0.50 a minute, billed in 30-second increments rounded up. There is a 14-day free trial.

    Standalone or add-on is available in the US and Canada; in the UK, Australia and the EU it is add-on only. If you already run RingEX, the $39 add-on is the obvious test, because the receptionist sits inside the phone system you already pay for.

    The downside is the overage. At $0.50 a minute it is the highest per-minute overage among the packaged products here, and the rounding makes it higher in practice. What I would ask: a report of your trial calls showing billed seconds against actual seconds.

    7. Goodcall: unlimited minutes, counted by customer

    Goodcall charges per agent, with unlimited minutes, and meters unique customers. Starter is $79 a month per agent for 100 unique customers, then $0.50 per customer. Growth is $129 for 250. Scale is $249 for 500. Paying annually takes 15% off: $66, $108 and $208. Enterprise is custom.

    Unlimited minutes is the headline, and for businesses with long calls it is a real advantage: a ten-minute call costs the same as a one-minute call. It is the per-call model's logic taken one step further.

    I could not verify HIPAA, SOC 2, integrations or trial length on the page, so those are open questions, not negatives. What I would ask: how a unique customer is defined (phone number, name, or something else) and whether a blocked or spam number counts.

    8. My AI Front Desk: a bundle with a credit meter

    My AI Front Desk (Frontdesk) sells one main plan, Business-in-a-Box, at $99 a month or $79 billed annually (a 20% saving). It includes 200 voice minutes, 100 chatbot conversations, 400 SMS and 1,000 overage credits.

    Auto-reload is $10 per 1,000 credits, and one credit is $0.01. Partner and Enterprise are custom. Zapier is supported, and there is a 7-day free trial. Bundling voice, chat and text in one plan is useful if you want all three, and wasteful if you only want the phone.

    What the page did not tell me is how many credits a voice minute consumes past the 200 included. Without that, I cannot price a heavy month. What I would ask: the credits per minute of overage voice, so you can turn $10 per 1,000 into a per-minute rate.

    9. Newo.ai: priced in units I could not define

    Newo.ai has a Pay As You Go plan at $0 a month with 50 free units once, then $1.75 a unit, and an AI Receptionist plan at $299 a month with 200 units, then $1.50 a unit. Enterprise is custom, billing is monthly, with no lock-in.

    The footer carries badges for HIPAA compliance, ISO/IEC 27001:2022 and SOC 2 Type 1. Those are the vendor's badges; I did not see the certificates.

    The problem for a buyer is the unit. I could not capture what a unit is from the pricing page, whether a call, a minute block or something else. That makes $1.50 a unit impossible to compare with anything else here. What I would ask: the definition of a unit, and an example month.

    10. Quo Sona: a phone system with a receptionist inside

    Quo is the company formerly called OpenPhone (openphone.com now redirects to quo.com). Its pricing page sells seats: Starter $19, Business $33, Scale $47 per user a month, or $15, $23 and $35 billed annually.

    The AI agent, Sona, is priced on top in call bundles. Every plan includes 1,000 credits, which the page equates to 10 calls. Paid tiers are $25 for 40 calls, $49 for 100, $99 for 250 and $199 for 600, with overage from $1.00 down to $0.45 a call. There is a 7-day free trial and a listed Clio integration.

    Quo lists "HIPAA ready" and a SOC 2 report as talk-to-sales items, so treat both as questions rather than features. For a small team that needs a business phone system anyway, it folds the receptionist into a bill you already pay, with the obvious downside that you are now choosing a phone system, not just a receptionist.

    11. Bland AI: a voice engine by the minute

    Bland is a developer platform. Start is $0.14 a minute of talk time and $0.05 a minute of transfer time, with no platform fee, a cap of 100 calls a day and no card required. Build is $0.12 a minute, $0.04 transfer, up to 2,000 calls a day. Enterprise is custom.

    The useful detail is that Bland includes the language model, speech-to-text and text-to-speech in the per-minute rate, so you are not stacking three more bills on top. Bland says it holds SOC 2 Type I and Type II, is HIPAA-eligible with a signed BAA, and meets GDPR and PCI DSS; its BAA sits under Enterprise.

    To be clear about what $0.14 buys: a voice engine, not a receptionist. Somebody has to write the call flows, connect your calendar, test the edge cases and maintain it. That somebody is either your staff time or a build fee, and neither appears on the pricing page.

    12. Vapi: the cheapest hosting, the most pass-through

    Vapi charges $0.05 a minute for hosting, with models passed through at cost and $5 in free credits. There is a Core package at $29 a month, and Pro is 10% of the hosting fee with a $999 a month minimum.

    Telephony is on top: the page gave examples such as Twilio inbound at $0.008 a minute and Telnyx at $0.0055 a minute. Extra concurrency is $10 a line a month. And its HIPAA add-on with a BAA was listed at $2,000 a month when checked on September 27, 2026.

    That HIPAA line is the single most instructive number in this article. For a small clinic, $2,000 a month for the compliance add-on is many times the hosting cost of its actual calls. Vapi is flexible and cheap to run, and it prices compliance for companies building products, not for a two-dentist practice. What I would ask: nothing. Just do the arithmetic before you pick it.

    Who is not in the 12, and why

    Several well-known names are missing from the twelve, each for a stated reason: no usable AI receptionist price, a different product, or a page that did not load. Leaving them out is not a verdict on quality.

    Retell AI publishes plenty, but as a component price list rather than a receptionist price: pay-as-you-go $0.07 to $0.31 a minute, voice infrastructure at $0.055 a minute, platform voices at $0.015 a minute, telephony from $0.015 a minute, knowledge base +$0.005 a minute, 20 concurrent calls included and $8 per extra concurrent call a month, with $10 in free credits. Retell says it is SOC 2 certified and HIPAA-ready; its custom BAA is in the Enterprise column. It belongs in the same family as Bland and Vapi, and I kept the twelve to one developer platform short of crowded.

    Synthflow showed no self-serve price on the page I fetched; it said enterprise contracts start at $30,000 annually. That is a real published figure, and it is a floor for a contract, not a receptionist plan you can compare.

    Lindy is a general agent platform that can answer phones. Plus is $29.99 a month per user with 3,000 credits per user, and HIPAA with a signed BAA is on Enterprise only. I could not find how many credits a phone call consumes, so I cannot price a receptionist month on it. Note also that its 7-day trial was only available via a Slack join; direct signups were billed immediately.

    Ruby and Abby Connect are human-first services with AI features, and they get their own comparison below. Numa now positions itself as an AI operating system for car dealerships and publishes no pricing. Allo and AnswerConnect's AI pricing pages returned 404 when I checked, and I could not extract AI receptionist prices from Nextiva, Dialpad or Grasshopper's pricing pages. I print nothing about those.

    The costs outside the headline

    Six costs sit outside the plan price on most of these pages: compliance tiers, overage, telephony, model pass-through, concurrency and billing increments. Any one can double a small bill.

    The wrong model here is the one we all learned from streaming subscriptions: the monthly price is the price. The right model is a hotel bill. The room rate is on the booking page; the parking, the resort fee and the minibar are on the checkout receipt. Therefore read the pricing page from the bottom up, footnotes first.

    HIPAA and the BAA tier

    Under HIPAA, a covered entity needs a business associate agreement with any vendor that handles protected health information on its behalf. A receptionist that books appointments for a clinic is likely to touch it, so the BAA is not optional for healthcare buyers.

    On the pages I checked, the BAA is where pricing jumps. Vapi listed a $2,000 a month HIPAA add-on. Bland lists its BAA under Enterprise. Retell lists a custom BAA under Enterprise. Lindy offers HIPAA with a signed BAA on Enterprise only. Trillet's HIPAA mode is not on the $49 plan. Abby Connect marks its HIPAA options as human only.

    So for a medical or dental practice, the entry price in the table above is often the wrong row. Price the cheapest tier that includes a signed BAA. If a vendor cannot tell you which tier that is, you have your answer. Our guide to voice AI agent architecture explains where patient data moves during a call and why every hop needs to be covered.

    Overage

    Overage is where plans quietly diverge. On the packaged products here, overage runs from $0.20 a minute (Trillet) to $0.50 a minute (RingCentral), and from $0.45 a call (Quo Sona's cheapest rate) to $3.00 a call (Smith.ai's free tier).

    The practical effect: a plan sized for your average month will overrun in your busiest one. A seasonal business, say a tax preparer in March or an HVAC company in a heat wave, should price the peak month, then decide whether to pay overage for a few months or carry a bigger tier all year.

    Telephony

    Packaged receptionists generally bundle the phone line. Developer platforms often do not. On Twilio's published US rates, inbound calls to a local number cost $0.0085 a minute, toll-free inbound $0.0220 a minute, outbound $0.0140 a minute, a local number $1.15 a month and a toll-free number $2.15 a month. Recording is $0.0025 a minute and Twilio's transcription $0.05 a minute.

    Those numbers are small, and that is the point: telephony is rarely what makes a receptionist expensive. Toll-free inbound, though, costs about 2.6x local inbound ($0.0220 against $0.0085), which matters if you advertise an 800 number.

    Model pass-through

    Vapi passes model costs through at cost, which means the voice and language model bill depends on which models you pick. For reference, Deepgram's Voice Agent API listed Standard at $0.075 a minute and Advanced at $0.163 a minute pay as you go, and OpenAI prices its Realtime API per million audio tokens ($32 in and $64 out for gpt-realtime-2.1, $10 and $20 for the mini model) rather than per minute.

    OpenAI does not publish a per-minute figure on that page, so I will not convert one for you. The takeaway is simpler: if a platform says models are passed through, the $0.05 on the pricing page is the smallest line on your bill, not the whole of it.

    Concurrency, increments and add-ons

    Concurrency is how many calls can be live at once. Retell includes 20 concurrent calls and charges $8 per extra line a month; Vapi charges $10 per extra line a month. A small office may never hit those limits; a clinic with a Monday morning rush might.

    Billing increments matter more than they look. RingCentral's 30-second rounding means a call of 31 seconds is billed as a minute. Add-ons are the last trap: Rosie's website texting at $50 a month, Dialzara's separate outbound plans, Smith.ai's human receptionists sold alongside the AI ones. None of these are hidden, exactly. They are just not in the number you compared.

    What a month costs: a scenario

    Consider a hypothetical small practice taking 200 inbound calls a month, averaging 3 minutes each, from 150 unique callers: 600 minutes in total. This is a scenario I made up to exercise the pricing pages, not a client and not a benchmark.

    I picked those numbers because they are modest and round, so you can redo the maths with your own. For each vendor I chose the cheapest published tier that covers the month, then added published overage. I ignored annual discounts, taxes and any setup work.

    VendorTier usedArithmeticScenario month
    Bland AIStart600 min x $0.14about $84, plus transfer minutes and build time
    GoodcallStarter$79 + 50 extra customers x $0.50about $104
    Quo Sona1 seat + $99 tier (250 calls)$19 + $99about $118
    TrilletAI Receptionist$49 + 450 min x $0.20about $139
    UpfirstPro (300 calls)$159.95 flatabout $160
    DialzaraPlus (500 min)$199 + 100 min x $0.40about $239
    RingCentral AIRStandalone$49 + 500 min x $0.50about $299, more if rounding bites
    Smith.ai AI150-call tier$270 + 50 calls x $2.30about $385
    VapiPay as you go600 x $0.05 + 600 x $0.008 telephonyabout $35 plus model costs (not computable)
    My AI Front DeskBusiness-in-a-Box$99 + extra minutes in creditsnot computable (credit rate per minute not published)
    RosieAnyIncluded minutes not capturednot computable
    Newo.aiAI ReceptionistWhat a unit is was not capturednot computable

    Let me do a few of these out loud, because the arithmetic is the point. On Smith.ai, Pro covers 75 calls for $150, and the other 125 calls at $2.50 add $312.50, so Pro would cost $462.50. The 150-call tier at $270 plus 50 extra calls at $2.30 ($115) comes to $385, which is cheaper. Picking the wrong tier costs about $77 a month for the same calls.

    On Upfirst, Premium covers 90 calls for $59.95, and 110 extra calls at $1 each would add $110, for $169.95. Pro covers all 300 for $159.95 flat. Again the bigger plan is cheaper, by about $10, with 100 calls of headroom.

    On Trillet, the $49 plan covers 150 minutes. The other 450 minutes at $0.20 add $90, for $139. On RingCentral, the $49 plan covers 100 minutes, and 500 more at $0.50 add $250, for $299, before the 30-second rounding adds anything.

    Now reduce it to one number. Among the packaged receptionists I could price, the cheapest scenario month was Goodcall at about $104 and the most expensive was Smith.ai at about $385. $385 divided by $104 is about 3.7. Same calls, same callers, 3.7x the bill, purely because of how each vendor counts.

    The multiplier is the finding. In this scenario the metering model moves the monthly bill by about 3.7x. No feature difference you will read about on a pricing page moves it that much.

    Change one input and the order shuffles. If the average call were 8 minutes instead of 3, the month would be 1,600 minutes. Trillet would become $49 plus 1,450 minutes at $0.20, or $339, while Upfirst Pro would stay at $159.95 because it charges per call. The per-call vendor now costs less than half as much. That is the break-even division from earlier, playing out in dollars.

    And the developer platforms? Bland comes out at about $84 for 600 minutes and Vapi at about $35 plus model costs. Those look like the winners until you remember they include no receptionist design, no testing and no maintenance. The scenario prices the engine, not the car.

    Three vendors I could not price at all: My AI Front Desk (no published credits-per-minute rate for voice overage), Rosie (included minutes not captured) and Newo.ai (unit not defined on the page). That is a quarter of the list. A quarter of published AI receptionist prices still cannot tell you what a normal month costs.

    Against a human answering service

    On published list prices, human answering services cost roughly 4x to 8x more per minute than a packaged AI receptionist at similar volume. That is a real gap, and it is not the whole comparison.

    ServicePlanMinutesEffective per minute
    Ruby (human)$720/mo200about $3.60
    Abby Connect (human)$599/mo200about $3.00
    PATLive (human)$349/mo200about $1.75
    Dialzara (AI)$99/mo220about $0.45
    Trillet (AI)$49/mo150about $0.33

    The arithmetic behind the table: Ruby's $720 for 200 minutes is $3.60 a minute. Abby Connect's $599 for 200 minutes is about $3.00. PATLive's$349 for 200 minutes is about $1.75. Dialzara's $99 for 220 minutes is about $0.45, and Trillet's $49 for 150 is about $0.33.

    So PATLive against Dialzara is about 3.9x, and Ruby against Dialzara is about 8x. Those are list prices from the vendors' own pages on September 27, 2026, and they are the most flattering way to state the AI case.

    Here is the honest other half. A human receptionist handles the upset caller, the ambiguous request, the person who needs to be told no kindly. An AI receptionist will, at best, recognise those calls and hand them to a person. And callers notice: Pew Research found in a June 2025 survey that 50% of US adults were more concerned than excited about AI in daily life. The cheaper per minute is only cheaper per call you are happy with.

    Abby Connect is a useful hybrid to know about: its plans double the minutes when you choose AI answering, so the same plan buys twice the coverage. Ruby says its "AI Enhancements" are included in all plans at no extra cost, but it sells no standalone AI receptionist price.

    If you want the full salary comparison, including what an in-house receptionist costs with benefits using BLS wage data, that is our AI versus human receptionist cost breakdown. This section only compares one outsourced service with another.

    Our #1 pick: Frenchy Digital

    Disclosure: Frenchy Digital is my company, so weigh this pick accordingly; it is not scored in the ranking above. None of the twelve vendors above is affected by this section, and none of their numbers changed because of it.

    Everything above is a subscription. Our AI Receptionist is priced the other way round: $5,000 for the agent plus a $5,000 one-time setup fee, both paid through Stripe Checkout as one-time payments, not a subscription. The product page says most builds run 2 to 4 weeks.

    Why would anyone pay $10,000 up front when Upfirst starts at $24.95? Mostly because of ownership. Source code and IP transfer to you, so the receptionist is an asset you hold, not a rental you renew. There is a 30-day post-launch warranty. Usage costs depend on the telephony and model providers you run it on, and those are separate from the build price.

    The downside, in the same breath: $10,000 is a lot more than a year of most of the plans above, and if your call pattern fits one of them cleanly, you should buy the subscription. Our build makes sense when the calls are specific to your business (your intake questions, your scheduling rules, your handoff to a named person) and a packaged product keeps forcing you into its template.

    It also does not replace your receptionist. It covers after hours, lunch and busy-line overflow, and when it hands a call to a person, it hands off with the conversation attached so nobody asks the caller to start over.

    What we can point to is website work, not receptionist results, and I want to be plain about that. For BH Dental Corp, we revamped a Beverly Hills cosmetic practice's WordPress site with one page per treatment and visible prices in its shop. That matters here only because a receptionist's answers come from the same place callers land: the website. It is not evidence of how a receptionist performs, and I will not present it as such.

    For larger or regulated work, our standard engagement bands apply: a discovery and workflow audit at $9k to $22k over 2 to 4 weeks, a single-workflow agent at $28k to $70k over 4 to 9 weeks, and a multi-workflow platform at $70k to $180k over 9 to 16 weeks. The AI agent development service page covers that side, and a fixed-price phased proposal follows within 5 business days.

    Red flags on a pricing page

    The red flags on an AI receptionist pricing page are about what is missing, not what is shown. Here are the ones I would walk away over, or at least demand in writing.

    Seven things that should slow you down

    • A unit with no definition: If the plan is priced in units or credits and the page never says what one call or one minute consumes, you cannot compare it. Ask for an example month.
    • Included allowance not stated: A plan price without included minutes or calls is a menu with no portion sizes.
    • No overage rate: If the page is silent on what happens past the allowance, assume the answer is expensive until told otherwise.
    • Compliance as a badge only: A HIPAA badge in the footer is not a signed BAA. Ask which tier includes the BAA and get it before any patient calls.
    • Billing increments unstated: Per-minute pricing without a stated increment can hide rounding. RingCentral states its 30-second rounding; that is the standard to hold others to.
    • Answer rates and savings claims presented as fact: Vendor-published answer, accuracy or savings percentages are marketing. No independent benchmark exists that I could find.
    • A trial that bills immediately: Read how the trial works. One platform's trial was only available through a Slack join, with direct signups billed immediately.

    One regulatory note belongs here. The FTC's Operation AI Comply in September 2024 went after unsubstantiated AI capability claims, including a proposed $193,000 order against DoNotPay. It is a reminder that a vendor's claims about what its AI does are claims, and you are entitled to ask for the evidence.

    And one legal note on recording, since most of these products record and transcribe calls. In California, Penal Code section 632 requires the consent of all parties to record a confidential communication. Check your state, and check that your receptionist says it is recording at the start of the call. That costs nothing and it is not optional.

    Numbers I refuse to print

    AI receptionist marketing often argues its case with a missed-call statistic, and the three I chased do not survive a trace back to their source. Here is what I found when I chased them.

    The most quoted is the claim that 62% of calls to small businesses go unanswered. It traces to a single post by 411 Locals, a marketing vendor, dated January 18, 2016: 85 businesses in 58 industries, monitored for 30 days. They found 37.8% answered, 37.8% went to voicemail and 24.3% got no response. The 62% counts voicemail as unanswered. Ten years old, 85 businesses, vendor-run. It is not a current rate, and I do not use it as one.

    The second is that 85% of callers who cannot reach you will not call back. I could not find a primary study at all. Blogs attribute it to Forbes or BIA/Kelsey with no link, date or method. The 411 Locals post contains no callback data. I refuse it.

    The third is some version of 80% of callers sent to voicemail hanging up. The earliest trace I found was a 2014 trade article citing an unnamed Forbes study with no date or sample, later relabelled by various vendors. I refuse that too, and every dollar figure for missed calls that vendor blogs build on these three.

    So what should you use instead? Your own phone records. Your carrier or phone system can tell you how many calls came in, how many were answered, and when the missed ones cluster. That number is small, dull and yours, which makes it worth more than any of the above.

    Limitations

    This is a snapshot of published list prices on one day, and it has gaps I could not close. Here they are, stated plainly.

    Prices change. Everything here was checked on September 27, 2026, and any vendor can revise its page the next day. Use the source links to re-check before you buy.

    List price is not negotiated price. Enterprise and volume deals are quoted privately, and I have no visibility into them.

    Some cells are empty because the page did not say. I could not capture Rosie's included minutes, Newo.ai's definition of a unit, My AI Front Desk's credits per voice minute, or Goodcall's compliance and trial terms. I did not re-verify whether Smith.ai offers a BAA on its AI plans.

    Compliance statements are the vendors' own. I did not inspect any SOC 2 report, HIPAA attestation or BAA, and I could not tell whether any certification belongs to the vendor or is inherited from its cloud provider.

    Vapi's $2,000 a month HIPAA add-on was read on its pricing page, which describes it as per organization and bundled with a business associate agreement. That page renders with JavaScript, so if it looks different when you visit, confirm the figure with Vapi directly.

    The scenario is invented and simple. Real call patterns have peaks, transfers, spam and after-hours clusters, all of which change the result. And I did not score quality at all, because nobody has published an independent benchmark I could use.

    Three things to do this week

    You can have a defensible price comparison for your own business by Friday. It takes three steps.

    • 1. Pull 90 days of call records: Get calls per month, average call length and unique callers from your phone system. Use the busiest month, not the average.
    • 2. Do the break-even division: Divide a per-call overage rate by a per-minute one. If your average call is longer than the result, shortlist per-call vendors; if shorter, per-minute ones.
    • 3. Email three vendors one question: Ask each shortlisted vendor for the all-in monthly price at your volume, including overage, telephony, and the tier with a signed BAA if you need one. Compare the answers, not the pricing pages.

    If a medical practice is what you run, our piece on AI voice agents for the medical front desk covers the workflow side. Then get the numbers.

    Pricing an AI Receptionist for Your Business?

    Book a free discovery call with Frenchy Digital, a senior-led Black-owned LA agency. Bring your call records and we will price the options against your real volume. Call +1 (424) 272-5601.

    Want a Receptionist Priced Around Your Calls?

    Book a free discovery call. Bring 90 days of call records and we will price the vendors above against your real volume, and tell you plainly if a subscription beats a build.

    1517 S Bentley Ave Apt 204, Los Angeles CA 90025

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Sources & References

    Chris Machetto - CEO & Founder, Frenchy Digital of Frenchy Digital

    Chris Machetto

    CEO & Founder of Frenchy Digital. Building apps and digital products since 2019 for startups and enterprises across LA, San Francisco, Paris, Geneva, and more globally.