Skip to main contentSkip to footer

    Top Rated & Verified

    Top Clutch App Development Company Black Owned United StatesTop Clutch Java Developers France 2026Top Clutch Service Line Blind Company Black Owned 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Minority Owned 2026Top Clutch Web Developers Black Owned 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Black Owned 2026Top Clutch Flutter Developers France 2026Top Clutch Health & Wellness App Developers France 2026Top Clutch Swift Company France 2026Top Clutch Machine Learning Company France 2026Top Clutch Chatbot Company France 2026Top Clutch Artificial Intelligence Company France 2026Top Clutch App Development Company Minority Owned Los Angeles
    Back to Blog
    AI Receptionists
    September 27, 2026
    26 min read

    10 Best AI Receptionist Companies 2026(#1: Frenchy Digital)

    Most best-of lists rank AI receptionists on answer rates the vendors wrote about themselves. This one scores ten third-party vendors only on what you can re-check on a public page today, shows every cell's source, and discloses our own pick separately.

    A small business phone line answered by an AI receptionist, with a scorecard of published prices, BAAs and human fallback
    9 / 10
    Top verifiable-attribute score among ten ranked AI receptionist vendors (Upfirst)
    Frenchy Digital scoring of vendor pricing pages, checked September 27, 2026
    $0 to $165
    Published monthly entry price range across the ten ranked vendors
    Smith.ai and Abby Connect pricing pages, checked September 27, 2026
    0
    Independent, non-vendor benchmarks of commercial AI receptionist products found
    Frenchy Digital vendor fact sheet, search as of September 27, 2026
    Jan 14, 2025
    SEC settled order against Presto Automation over AI voice claims; no civil penalty
    SEC, In re Presto Automation Inc., Release No. 33-11352

    Key Takeaways

    • We ranked ten third-party AI receptionist vendors on five attributes anyone can re-check on a public page: published pricing, BAA disclosure and tier, named integrations, documented human fallback and a free trial. Two points each, ten points maximum, checked September 27, 2026.
    • Upfirst scored 9 out of 10. Smith.ai's AI Receptionist and Dialzara tied on 7, followed by Quo's Sona and Abby Connect on 6, My AI Front Desk on 5, RingCentral's AI Receptionist, Rosie and Trillet on 4, and Goodcall on 2.
    • The score measures what a vendor discloses, not how well it answers the phone. No independent benchmark of commercial AI receptionists exists, so every accuracy or answer rate in this market is the seller's own number and we score none of them.
    • Units are not comparable across vendors: calls, minutes, unique customers and credits. At 200 calls a month, Smith.ai's published tiers work out to about $385 against Upfirst's $159.95 Pro plan, a 2.4x gap, before you account for call length.
    • Only one ranked vendor, Upfirst, lists BAAs as a plan feature. If you handle protected health information, a signed BAA is the first filter, and most pages do not answer the question.
    • Refuse the missed-call statistics. The 62% figure is a 2016 study of 85 businesses by a marketing vendor that counts voicemail as unanswered, and the 85% never-call-back figure has no primary study at all.
    • Frenchy Digital is disclosed separately as our own pick and is not scored: $5,000 agent plus $5,000 one-time setup via Stripe Checkout, 2 to 4 week builds per the product page, source code and IP transfer, 30-day warranty.

    The Question Every Buyer Asks First

    Which AI receptionist is actually the best one? It sounds like the easiest question in the category. Then you open the comparison pages that rank for it, and the ones I found (Vellum, OmniMD and others like them) turned out to be vendor or affiliate content, leaning on answer rates and "accuracy" figures the vendors publish about themselves.

    That's not a ranking. That's a leaderboard of press releases.

    So I did the boring version instead. On September 27, 2026 I went through the pricing pages of every AI receptionist vendor I could verify, wrote down only what each page actually says, and scored ten of them on five things you can re-check yourself in about ten minutes per vendor. No call quality scores, no containment rates, no "our AI answers 99% of calls". Just what's published.

    The wrong mental model most buyers bring to this is that an AI receptionist is a software purchase, so the best one is the one with the best features. The better model is that it's priced like software but judged like an employee: you care what it costs at your volume, what it's allowed to handle, and who picks up when it can't. Therefore the most useful ranking scores those things and refuses the rest.

    If you're earlier in the process and still working out which category of product you even need (an answering service with AI, a DIY voice platform, a vertical tool or a custom build), start with our AI receptionist software buyer's guide and come back here with a shortlist.

    Disclosure up front. Frenchy Digital builds AI receptionists, and near the end of this article I name our own product as my #1 pick. It is not scored in the ranking and it is not inserted into it. The ten vendors below are third parties, scored with the same rubric, and the rubric is printed in full so you can check my work.

    How We Scored, and What We Refused

    Five attributes, two points each, ten points maximum, all taken from the vendor's own public pages on September 27, 2026.Here's the rubric in full, stated before the table so you can disagree with it before you see who won.

    What we scored, and how you re-check each one

    • Published pricing (0 to 2): 2 if the page shows an entry price, what it includes and the overage rate. 1 if it shows prices but leaves the included allowance or overage unstated. 0 if no price is published. Re-check: open the vendor's pricing page and find the overage line.
    • BAA stated, and on what tier (0 to 2): 2 if the page states a BAA is offered and names the plan. 1 if it mentions a BAA, HIPAA mode or HIPAA readiness with a restriction or a sales gate. 0 if nothing is disclosed. Re-check: search the pricing page for BAA and HIPAA, then ask sales for the document.
    • Named integrations (0 to 2): 2 if the page names at least two specific business apps, such as a calendar or a practice management system. 1 if it names only a general connector like Zapier or Make, or a single app. 0 if none is named on the page checked.
    • Documented human fallback (0 to 2): 2 if the page documents a transfer or handoff to a person on the plans we priced. 1 if it is limited to a higher tier or sits on a different page. 0 if not found. Re-check: search for transfer, handoff or live agent.
    • Free trial (0 to 2): 2 for a free trial or a free tier. 1 for a money-back guarantee instead of a trial. 0 if no trial is stated.

    Ownership and corporate status is in the evidence table too, but it isn't scored. I could only verify a status change for two vendors in this market (OpenPhone is now Quo, and Numa has repositioned to car dealerships), and scoring an attribute I could verify for so few would reward whoever happened to make news.

    Ties are broken by the lower published entry price, then alphabetically. That's a blunt rule, and I'd rather use a blunt rule you can see than a subtle one you can't.

    What we refused to score, and why. We score no accuracy figure, answer rate, booking rate, containment rate or ROI claim. We searched for an independent, non-vendor benchmark of commercial AI receptionist products and did not find one; the rankings that surface in search are vendor or affiliate content. Any number of that kind is the seller grading its own homework, so it stays out of the math.

    To be clear about what that means: a high score here says a vendor tells you a lot before you sign. It does not say the agent sounds natural, books correctly or handles your accent mix. A vendor could publish everything and still run a mediocre agent. You find that out in the trial, which is why the trial is one of the five attributes.

    Who we excluded, and why.Developer voice platforms (Vapi, Retell, Bland, Synthflow) are building blocks, not receptionists, so they get their own section. Lindy is a general agent tool that can make calls. Ruby is a human answering service whose AI is an included enhancement with no standalone price. Newo.ai publishes a receptionist plan but not what its billing "unit" is, so its price can't be compared. Numa now positions itself for car dealerships only. Allo and AnswerConnect's AI pricing pages returned 404 on the day, so we print nothing about them.

    How to re-check.Every cell in the evidence table names what the vendor's page said on September 27, 2026, and the sources list at the bottom gives each URL. Pricing pages change without notice. If you're about to sign, screenshot the page on the day and keep it with the contract.

    The Scoreboard

    Upfirst came out on top with 9 of 10, and the gap between the top and bottom of this table is mostly a gap in disclosure. Here are the scores. The next table shows the evidence behind each number.

    RankVendorPricingBAAIntegrationsHuman fallbackTrialTotal / 10
    1Upfirst212229
    2Smith.ai AI Receptionist202127
    3Dialzara201227
    4Quo (Sona AI agent)211026
    5Abby Connect110226
    6My AI Front Desk201025
    7RingCentral AI Receptionist200024
    8Rosie100124
    9Trillet210014
    10Goodcall200002

    Scores reflect the vendor's public pricing pages checked September 27, 2026. A zero means the attribute was not disclosed on the page we checked, not that the vendor cannot provide it.

    The first thing I noticed laying this out: BAA is the weakest column by a distance. Not one of the ten earns both points there: four earn a partial point and six earn nothing. If you run a dental office, a therapy practice or anything else that touches health information, that single column narrows your list faster than the other four combined.

    The second: trials are nearly universal. Nine of ten publish a trial, a free tier or a refund window. That's good news, because it means you almost never have to take a vendor's word for call quality. You can ring the thing yourself.

    The Evidence Behind Every Cell

    Each cell below is what the vendor's page said on September 27, 2026, or the words "not publicly disclosed".Compliance lines are the vendor's own claims; we inspected no certificate, audit report or signed BAA for any of them.

    VendorPublished priceBAA statedIntegrations namedHuman fallbackTrialOwnership / status
    UpfirstStarter $24.95/mo for 30 calls ($20 annual), $1.50 per extra call; Premium $59.95 for 90; Pro $159.95 for 300; Scale $299 for 600Yes, vendor lists BAAs for compliance as a plan feature; tier not capturedGoogle, Outlook, Clio, Acuity, CalendlyWarm handoff to your team14-day free trialNot publicly disclosed
    Smith.ai AI ReceptionistFree $0 for 25 calls, $3.00/call after; Pro $150 for 75 calls, extra $2.50; 150 calls $270; Enterprise from $500 for 300Not publicly disclosed on the page checkedClio, Zapier, CalendlyHuman receptionist plans sold separately; AI-first and human-first handling on the general pricing pageFree tier doubles as trialNot publicly disclosed
    DialzaraBusiness Lite $29/mo for 60 min, $0.48/min over; Pro $99 for 220; Plus $199 for 500; Elite $349 for 1,000Not publicly disclosedZapier and Make onlyWarm and blind transfers7-day free trial; no contractNot publicly disclosed
    Quo (Sona)Seats $19, $33, $47 per user/mo; Sona 10 calls free, tiers $25 for 40 calls to $199 for 600; overage $1.00 to $0.45/callHIPAA ready and SOC 2 report listed as talk-to-sales itemsClioNot publicly disclosed for Sona7-day free trialFormerly OpenPhone; openphone.com redirects to quo.com
    Abby ConnectStarter $165/mo for 50 Abby minutes; Essential $329 for 100; Professional $599 for 200; Growth $1,380 for 500; minutes doubled when AI is chosenHIPAA options marked human onlyNot publicly disclosedHuman agents are the core serviceFree trial on every plan; no setup feeNot publicly disclosed
    My AI Front Desk$99/mo or $79 billed annually; 200 voice minutes, 100 chatbot conversations, 400 SMS; $10 per 1,000 credits auto-reloadNot publicly disclosedZapierNot publicly disclosed7-day free trialNot publicly disclosed
    RingCentral AI ReceptionistStandalone from $49/mo with 100 min; add-on to RingEX from $39; $0.50/min overage in 30-second increments rounded upNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosed on the pages checkedNot publicly disclosed on the pages checked14-day free trialPart of RingCentral; add-on only in UK, Australia, EU
    RosieProfessional $49/mo, Scale $149, Growth $299; annual 2 months free; website texting add-on $50Not publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedLive call transfers on Scale only7-day free trialNot publicly disclosed
    TrilletAI Receptionist $49/mo for 150 min, then $0.20/min, inbound only; no setup feesHIPAA mode on Studio, Agency, Enterprise; not on the $49 plan; BAA not statedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosed28-day money-back guarantee (not a trial)Not publicly disclosed
    GoodcallStarter $79/mo per agent, 100 unique customers, $0.50 per customer after; Growth $129; Scale $249; annual 15% offNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosedNot publicly disclosed

    Sources: each vendor's pricing page as listed in the sources section. Smith.ai's human handling line comes from its general pricing page rather than its AI Receptionist page. Quo's rebrand is confirmed by openphone.com redirecting to quo.com.

    Read the units column carefully before you read the prices. Upfirst and Smith.ai bill by the call. Dialzara, Trillet and RingCentral bill by the minute. Goodcall bills per agent and meters unique customers. My AI Front Desk bills a flat fee plus credits. Abby Connect bills in "Abby minutes" that double when you choose AI. Quo charges per seat plus per call. Those aren't five ways of saying the same thing, and the cheapest headline is often not the cheapest bill.

    The Ten, Ranked

    Here's each vendor in rank order, with what earned its score, what cost it points, and who it suits.Every recommendation comes with its downside in the same breath, because that's the part the vendor's page won't write for you.

    1. Upfirst: 9 out of 10

    Upfirst comes closest to answering all five questions on a single public page. Per the Upfirst pricing page, Starter is $24.95 a month for 30 calls ($20 billed annually) with extra calls at $1.50, Premium is $59.95 for 90 calls, Pro is $159.95 for 300 and Scale is $299 for 600. Extra calls get cheaper as you move up: $1, then $0.75, then $0.70.

    It names scheduling into Google, Outlook, Clio, Acuity and Calendly, documents a warm handoff to your team, and offers a 14-day free trial. It also lists "BAAs for compliance" as a plan feature, which is the vendor's claim, and the page we captured didn't say which tier carries it. That missing tier is the single point it dropped.

    Who it suits: small offices with steady call volume and appointments in a mainstream calendar. The downside:per-call billing punishes lots of very short calls (wrong numbers, "are you open?"), and you'll need the BAA tier confirmed in writing before any patient calls touch it.

    2. Smith.ai AI Receptionist: 7 out of 10

    Smith.ai has the most generous way in: a free plan with 25 calls a month and $3.00 per call after, which doubles as the trial, according to its AI Receptionist pricing page. Pro is $150 for 75 calls with extra calls at $2.50, a 150-call tier is $270, and Enterprise starts at $500 for 300 calls, with 500 calls at $800.

    It names Clio, Zapier and Calendly as native integrations, which matters if you're a law firm. Smith.ai also sells human receptionists, and its general pricing page describes AI-first and human-first handling; because that sits on a different page from the AI plans, it earned one fallback point rather than two. It lost both BAA points because the AI page we checked said nothing about one.

    Who it suits: firms that want to start at zero and may later want humans behind the AI from the same company. The downside:per call, it's among the most expensive in this table, which the arithmetic section below makes concrete.

    3. Dialzara: 7 out of 10

    Dialzara is the clearest per-minute price sheet in the group. The Dialzara pricing pagelists Business Lite at $29 a month for 60 minutes with $0.48 a minute over, Pro at $99 for 220 minutes, Plus at $199 for 500 and Elite at $349 for 1,000, with overage falling to $0.35. There's no contract and a 7-day free trial.

    It documents both warm and blind transfers, which is exactly the handoff detail most pages skip. Integrations run through Zapier and Make rather than named apps, so it took one point there, and it disclosed nothing on BAAs.

    Who it suits: businesses with short, predictable calls who are comfortable wiring a Zapier step. The downside:"works with Zapier" means somebody on your side builds and maintains that glue, and when it breaks, the call still gets answered but the booking quietly doesn't land.

    4. Quo (Sona AI agent): 6 out of 10

    Quo is the company you may still know as OpenPhone; openphone.com now redirects to quo.com. Per the Quo pricing page, the phone system costs $19, $33 or $47 per user a month ($15, $23 or $35 annually), and its Sona AI agent includes 1,000 credits (about 10 calls) on every plan, with tiers from $25 for 40 calls up to $199 for 600 and overage from $1.00 down to $0.45 a call.

    It lists a Clio integration and a 7-day trial. HIPAA readiness and a SOC 2 report are listed as talk-to-sales items, which earned one BAA point. I couldn't find a documented human fallback for Sona on the pricing page, even though your team is presumably on the same phone system.

    Who it suits: teams that want the phone system and the AI in one bill. The downside:you're paying per seat and per call, so the receptionist price is never the whole price, and switching the AI later means switching your phones.

    5. Abby Connect: 6 out of 10

    Abby Connect is a human answering service first, with AI as an option. The Abby Connect pricing pagelists Starter at $165 a month for 50 "Abby minutes", Essential at $329 for 100, Professional at $599 for 200 and Growth at $1,380 for 500, with minutes doubled when AI is chosen. There's a free trial on every plan and no setup fee.

    That human core earns full fallback marks. Its HIPAA options are marked "human only", so a medical practice that wants the AI side under HIPAA won't get it from what's published, which is why it took one BAA point. The overage rate wasn't on the page, which cost a pricing point, and no integrations were named.

    Who it suits: businesses where a wrong answer is expensive and a person should be one step away. The downside:it's the highest entry price in the ten by a wide margin, and you're buying a hybrid service, not a pure AI line.

    6. My AI Front Desk: 5 out of 10

    My AI Front Desk sells one self-serve plan, Business-in-a-Box, at $99 a month or $79 billed annually, per the My AI Front Desk pricing page. It includes 200 voice minutes, 100 chatbot conversations, 400 SMS and 1,000 overage credits, with auto-reload at $10 per 1,000 credits (one credit is $0.01).

    It names Zapier and has a 7-day trial. No BAA and no human transfer were disclosed on the page we checked. The bundle is the interesting part: voice, website chat and texting under one fee.

    Who it suits: owners who want one tool across phone, chat and text. The downside:credits are an abstraction on top of minutes, so estimating a heavy month takes a spreadsheet, and there's no published human fallback.

    7. RingCentral AI Receptionist: 4 out of 10

    RingCentral's AI Receptionist (it calls it AIR) is sold standalone from $49 a month with 100 minutes, or as an add-on to its RingEX phone system from $39 with 100 minutes, per the RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing page. Overage is $0.50 a minute, billed in 30-second increments rounded up. There's a 14-day free trial. Standalone or add-on is available in the US and Canada; in the UK, Australia and the EU it's add-on only.

    That rounding rule is worth a second look. A 10-second wrong number bills as 30 seconds. If your line gets many short calls, your effective per-minute rate climbs well above $0.50.

    Who it suits: existing RingCentral customers. The downside:the pages we checked didn't name integrations, a BAA or a human transfer path, so the score is low on disclosure, and those are exactly the questions to put to your account rep.

    8. Rosie: 4 out of 10

    Rosie publishes three tiers on its pricing page: Professional at $49 a month, Scale at $149 and Growth at $299, with two months free annually and a website texting add-on at $50 a month for 25 conversations. There's a 7-day free trial.

    Live call transfers appear on Scale, not on the entry plan, which earned one fallback point. The included minutes weren't captured from the page, which cost a pricing point: a $49 price without an allowance can't be compared to anything.

    Who it suits: small shops that want to test cheaply. The downside:if you need a person on the line for escalations, you're on the $149 plan, not the $49 one.

    9. Trillet: 4 out of 10

    Trillet's AI Receptionist is $49 a month for 150 minutes, then $0.20 a minute, inbound only, with no setup fees, according to the Trillet pricing page. That's the lowest effective per-minute rate in this table. It offers a 28-day money-back guarantee rather than a free trial, which earned one point.

    Trillet says a HIPAA mode toggle is available on its Studio, Agency and Enterprise plans, not the $49 receptionist plan, and the page doesn't say whether a BAA comes with it. That's one BAA point, and a clear warning for clinics shopping on the headline price.

    Who it suits: cost-sensitive businesses outside healthcare with longer calls. The downside: inbound only, and no named integrations or human transfer on the page we checked.

    10. Goodcall: 2 out of 10

    Goodcall prices differently from everyone else: a flat fee per agent with unlimited minutes, metered by unique customers. The Goodcall pricing page lists Starter at $79 a month per agent for 100 unique customers ($0.50 per customer after), Growth at $129 for 250 and Scale at $249 for 500, with 15% off annually.

    That model is clever for businesses whose regulars call repeatedly: the fifth call from the same customer costs nothing extra. But on the day we checked, we couldn't verify its BAA position, integrations, human fallback or trial length, so it scored only for pricing.

    Who it suits: repeat-caller businesses like salons or trades with loyal clients. The downside: last place here is about what we could confirm, not what Goodcall can do, so ask for the missing four answers in writing before you rule it in or out.

    The Arithmetic at Your Volume

    The cheapest AI receptionist is the one that's cheapest at your call count and call length, and the headline price rarely tells you which that is.The wrong model is to compare entry prices. The right one is to divide each plan's price by what it includes, then check the overage at your real volume.

    Vendor and planPublished unitCost at the plan's full allowanceEffective unit price
    Upfirst Pro300 calls$159.95About $0.53 per call
    Upfirst Scale600 calls$299About $0.50 per call
    Smith.ai Pro75 calls$150$2.00 per call
    Smith.ai 150-call tier150 calls$270$1.80 per call
    Dialzara Pro220 minutes$99$0.45 per minute
    Trillet AI Receptionist150 minutes$49About $0.33 per minute
    RingCentral AI Receptionist100 minutes$49$0.49 per minute
    My AI Front Desk200 voice minutes$99About $0.50 per minute (plus chat and SMS)
    Abby Connect Starter50 Abby minutes$165$3.30 per Abby minute

    Our arithmetic from published plan prices, September 27, 2026. Effective unit price assumes you use the full allowance.

    Let's run one scenario out loud. Suppose your office takes 200 calls a month. On Smith.ai, the 150-call tier is $270, plus 50 extra calls at $2.30 each, which is $115, for about $385. On Upfirst, 200 calls fits inside the Pro plan's 300 at $159.95.

    $385 divided by $159.95 is about 2.4. So at that volume, Smith.ai's published AI pricing costs roughly 2.4x Upfirst's. That's not a small difference, and it's one a feature comparison would never show you.

    Now the catch. Per-call and per-minute plans flip depending on how long your calls run. Suppose those same 200 calls average two minutes, so 400 minutes. Dialzara's Plus plan covers 500 minutes for $199. If they average four minutes, 800 minutes, you're on Elite at $349, and Upfirst's $159.95 doesn't change at all because it doesn't care about length.

    Therefore the one number you need before any demo is your average call length. Your phone provider almost certainly has it in a call log export. Pull 30 days, divide total minutes by total calls, and you'll know in five minutes which pricing model favours you.

    One more reference point, because every buyer asks it. The BLS puts the median receptionist wage at $38,010 a year for 2025, per its Occupational Outlook Handbook. That's about $3,168 a month in wages alone, roughly 20x Upfirst's Pro plan. But a person does far more than answer calls, and none of these plans replace one; the honest comparison, with benefits and coverage hours, is in our AI versus human receptionist cost breakdown, and the full price sheet for twelve vendors lives in our AI receptionist pricing comparison.

    And keep one eye on what these prices don't include: the time somebody on your team spends writing the script, updating hours before a holiday and reviewing transcripts. That's a real, recurring cost. It just isn't on anyone's pricing page.

    Verified but Not Ranked

    Several vendors publish real prices but aren't finished receptionists, so ranking them next to Upfirst would compare a kit to a car.Here's what they publish, so you know what you'd be buying if you go the build route.

    Vapi charges $0.05 a minute for its hosting with the underlying models passed through at cost, $5 in free credits, a $29 Core package and a Pro tier at 10% of the hosting fee with a $999 monthly minimum, per the Vapi pricing page. When I re-checked the page on September 27, 2026, it listed HIPAA-eligible data handling as a $2,000 a month add-on per organization, which it says comes with a BAA. That add-on alone equals 40,000 minutes of hosting at $0.05, which tells you who the platform route is priced for.

    Retell AI lists pay-as-you-go pricing from $0.07 to $0.31 a minute, with $10 in free credits and 20 concurrent calls included, per its pricing page. It describes itself as SOC 2 certified and HIPAA-ready, with a custom BAA in the Enterprise column. Those are its own claims.

    Bland AI charges $0.14 a minute of talk time on its Start plan with no platform fee and a 100-calls-a-day cap, and $0.12 a minute on Build, according to its pricing page. Bland says it is HIPAA-eligible with a signed BAA, listed under Enterprise. Synthflow shows only enterprise contracts starting at $30,000 a year on the page we fetched.

    Those per-minute prices look tiny next to the receptionist plans, and that's the trap. The wrong model is "$0.07 a minute beats $0.45 a minute". The right one is that platform pricing excludes the call flow design, calendar integration, testing and upkeep that a receptionist vendor bundles in, and somebody has to do that work. If you want to see where the time and latency actually go in a build like this, our voice AI agent architecture guide walks through it.

    Also verified, not ranked:Ruby, a human virtual receptionist service ($250 a month for 50 minutes up to $1,725 for 500) that says AI enhancements are included in all plans at no extra cost; Newo.ai, whose receptionist plan is $299 for 200 "units" without saying what a unit is; and Lindy, a general agent tool at $29.99 per user with HIPAA and a BAA on Enterprise only.

    The Numbers We Refuse to Print

    AI receptionist marketing leans on missed-call statistics, and the three I kept running into don't survive a trace to their source.I chased each of them. Here's where they came from and why they aren't in this ranking.

    "62% of calls to small businesses go unanswered." The origin is a January 2016 post by 411 Locals, a marketing vendor. It monitored 85 businesses in 58 industries for 30 days: 37.8% of calls answered, 37.8% sent to voicemail and 24.3% with no response. The 62% counts voicemail as unanswered. Ten years old, 85 businesses, run by a company selling the cure. It isn't a current rate and we don't treat it as one.

    "85% of callers who can't reach you won't call back." I found no primary study at all. Blogs attribute it to Forbes or BIA/Kelsey with no link, date or method, and the 411 Locals post contains no callback data. We refuse it.

    "80% of callers sent to voicemail hang up." The earliest trace I found is a 2014 destinationCRM itemciting an unnamed "Forbes study" with no date or sample. Later blogs relabel it under other vendors' names with different numbers. We refuse that too, along with the "$126K lost per year to missed calls" figures that vendor blogs build on top of these.

    Why does this matter for a ranking? Because a list that starts with an invented problem size tends to end with an invented solution size. If a vendor's deck opens with one of these, it's a fair signal about how carefully the rest of the deck was sourced. Your own call log is a better number than any of them, and it's free.

    What the Presto Order Teaches a Buyer

    One public record of an AI voice product being described as more automated than it was is an SEC order, and it's worth ten minutes of any buyer's time.Presto Automation sold AI voice ordering to drive-thru restaurants. It's not a receptionist company, but the product is a cousin: software answering spoken requests from the public.

    On January 14, 2025, the SEC issued a settled cease-and-desist order, Securities Act Release No. 33-11352. Presto consented without admitting or denying the findings, and the order contains no civil penalty. The findings said Presto Voice units deployed until about September 2022 ran on a third party's speech recognition (the order calls it "Supplier A") while being described as Presto's own technology, and that its own units relied on human order takers abroad. The order is a cease-and-desist against Presto; it makes no findings against Supplier A.

    The wrong lesson is "AI voice vendors lie". The right one is narrower and more useful: the words "our AI" can cover a supplier's model, and "automated" can cover people. Therefore two questions belong on every sales call. Whose models run the calls? And is a human involved at any point, and where are they?

    There's nothing wrong with a vendor using a third-party model. What matters is that you know, because it tells you who else sees your callers' data and whose outage takes your phones down. The FTC made the broader point in September 2024 with its Operation AI Comply sweep, which included a proposed $193,000 order against DoNotPay over unsubstantiated AI capability claims.

    Our #1 Pick: Frenchy Digital

    Disclosure: Frenchy Digital is my company, so weigh this pick accordingly; it is not scored in the ranking above.

    Here's why I'd still put it first for a certain kind of business, and exactly what backs that up. Our AI Receptionist is $5,000 for the agent plus a $5,000 one-time setup fee, both paid through Stripe Checkout as one-time payments. It isn't a subscription. The product page says most builds run 2 to 4 weeks. Usage costs depend on the telephony and model providers, so those sit on top and scale with your call volume.

    The wrong way to compare this with the table above is price per month. Upfirst's Pro plan is $159.95; our $10,000 would cover about 62 months of that. So if all you need is a well-behaved answering line, a plan from the ranking is the cheaper choice, and I'd tell you so on a call.

    The case for owning it is different. You get the source code and the IP, so the agent, its prompts and its integrations are yours. It's built around your call flow rather than a vendor's template, and it comes with a 30-day post-launch warranty. It doesn't replace your receptionist: it covers after hours, lunch and busy-line overflow, and hands off to your team with the conversation attached.

    To be clear about what I can't claim: I have no call-answer or booking statistics to show you, and I won't invent any. What I can point to is our website work, which matters more than it sounds, because a receptionist's answers come from the same facts your site publishes. When we revamped BH Dental Corp's site for a Beverly Hills cosmetic practice, each treatment got its own page and the aligner and take-home products got visible prices, which is exactly the source material an agent should answer from. That was a website project, not a receptionist build.

    Who it suits: businesses with a specific intake flow, a system of record the off-the-shelf tools don't name, or a reason to own the agent outright. The downside:a higher upfront cost than any plan above, and you're trusting a build rather than a product with thousands of users. If your needs are standard, pick from the ranking.

    Red Flags on a Sales Call

    The wrong model is that a sales call is where you learn what the product does. The better one is that it's where you learn what the vendor will put in writing.Here's what I listen for, and why each one matters.

    • An answer rate or accuracy figure with no method behind it: Ask how it was measured, on whose calls and by whom. If the answer is our customers' data, it's a marketing number.
    • HIPAA compliant with no BAA on the table: A badge is not a contract. If you handle health information, ask for the BAA itself and which plan it applies to.
    • No clear answer on whose models run the calls: The Presto order is the reason to ask. You want the model and speech providers named.
    • Handoff described vaguely: Ask whether transfers are warm or blind, what happens after hours when nobody picks up, and whether the transcript travels with the call.
    • Overage billing you can't reproduce: Minutes, calls, customers, credits and 30-second rounding all change the bill. Ask for a sample invoice at your volume.
    • A missed-call statistic in the first slide: The common ones are refused above. A deck that opens on one tends to be sourced the same way throughout.
    • No trial, or a trial on a different plan: Eight of ten ranked vendors offer a trial or a free tier, and a ninth offers a refund window. Test the plan you'd actually buy.

    If you're a law firm, the list gets longer: conflicts, prospective-client confidentiality and state bar guidance on intake bots all change what a receptionist may ask. We worked through those in the law firm AI receptionist checklist.

    And whatever you buy, keep a person reachable. Gartner reported in August 2026that 87% of customers say companies using GenAI for customer service must provide access to a human agent (I read the headline; the methodology page was blocked to me). A clean handoff isn't a nice-to-have. It's the thing callers judge you on.

    Compliance Basics Before You Go Live

    Three rules come up for almost every AI receptionist deployment, and none of them is on a pricing page.This isn't legal advice; for regulated work, talk to counsel.

    Recording consent. California Penal Code 632 requires the consent of all parties to record a confidential communication, and about a dozen states take a similar all-party approach. If your receptionist records or transcribes calls, announce it at the top of every call.

    AI disclosure. In the EU, Article 50 of the AI Act applies from August 2, 2026 and includes telling people they are interacting with an AI system, per the European Commission's FAQ. In the US it's a patchwork: California's bot disclosure law is written around online communication, and Utah requires disclosure when a consumer clearly asks, and up front for regulated occupations in high-risk interactions. The simplest policy is to say it anyway.

    Health information.A covered entity needs a business associate agreement with any vendor that handles protected health information on its behalf. That's why the BAA column carries the weight it does in the scoreboard. And if the agent ever makes outbound calls, the FCC ruled in a declaratory ruling adopted February 2, 2024 that AI-generated voices count as "artificial" under the TCPA, so those calls need prior express consent. Answering inbound calls is a different matter.

    What We Could Not Verify

    A ranking that only reports what it found can't be audited, so here's what I chased and couldn't establish.

    • Call quality for any vendor: No independent benchmark exists, and we ran no blind test calls for this piece. The ranking is about disclosure, not performance.
    • Any compliance certificate: Every SOC 2, HIPAA and ISO line here is the vendor's own claim. We inspected no audit report or signed BAA, and could not tell whether any certification is the vendor's own or inherited from its cloud provider.
    • Upfirst's BAA tier: The page lists BAAs as a plan feature; which plan was not captured.
    • Rosie's included minutes: Not captured from the page, which is why its pricing cell scored one point.
    • Goodcall's BAA, integrations, fallback and trial: Not verified on the day. Its low score reflects that gap, not a finding that the features are absent.
    • Ownership and funding: We verified the OpenPhone to Quo rebrand and Numa's repositioning only. A reported acquisition of TrueLark by Weave came from a search summary and is not printed as fact. Funding rounds were not checked.
    • Several vendors entirely: Allo and AnswerConnect's AI pricing pages returned 404; Nextiva, Dialpad and Grasshopper AI receptionist prices were not extracted. They are absent, not excluded on merit.

    None of this makes the ranking less useful. It makes it honest about what it is: a shortlist built from facts you can check, meant to get you to a trial faster, not to replace one.

    Three Things to Do This Week

    You can get from this article to a real decision in about a week.Here's the order I'd do it in.

    1. 1.Export 30 days of call logs from your phone provider and work out two numbers: total calls and average call length. Those decide whether per-call or per-minute pricing favours you.
    2. 2.Filter the scoreboard by your non-negotiables. If you handle health information, only vendors with a stated BAA survive; if you need a person on the line, only those with documented fallback. Pick two or three.
    3. 3.Start trials on the exact plan you'd buy, call them yourself from your mobile with five real questions your front desk gets, and screenshot each pricing page the day you sign.

    If none of them fits your call flow, that's when a custom build makes sense. Otherwise, pick the best of the trials and get back to work.

    Want an AI Receptionist Built Around Your Call Flow?

    Book a discovery call with Frenchy Digital, a senior-led Black-owned Los Angeles agency. We map your intake, handoff rules and integrations, and send a fixed-price phased proposal within 5 business days. Call +1 (424) 272-5601.

    Want an AI Receptionist You Own?

    Book a discovery call. We map your call flow, the handoff rules and the integrations, and send a fixed-price phased proposal within 5 business days.

    1517 S Bentley Ave Apt 204, Los Angeles CA 90025

    Frequently Asked Questions

    Sources & References

    Chris Machetto - CEO & Founder, Frenchy Digital of Frenchy Digital

    Chris Machetto

    CEO & Founder of Frenchy Digital. Building apps and digital products since 2019 for startups and enterprises across LA, San Francisco, Paris, Geneva, and more globally.